THE Awards 2020: shortlist announced

More than 80 institutions make the shortlists across 20 categories

September 10, 2020

The shortlists for the 2020 Times Higher Education Awards – the “Oscars of higher education” – have been announced.

More than 80 institutions make the shortlists across 20 categories, which celebrate the full range of university activity.

Because of the coronavirus pandemic, this year’s award winners will be announced during a free virtual event on 26 November.

The University of Dundee leads the way with five appearances on the shortlists, while De Montfort, Edge Hill and Newcastle universities, plus the University of Exeter, are in the running in four categories.

Edge Hill is among six institutions shortlisted for the coveted University of the Year title, alongside the universities of Glasgow and Worcester, Keele and Staffordshire universities and The Open University.

John Gill, THE editor, said that while this year’s awards “will differ from previous years, because we will not be able to gather to celebrate in person, the purpose remains the same: to highlight and champion the very best of the talent and creativity that shines out from our universities”.

“In 2020 more than ever, it is vital to recognise and shout about those achievements – and we have been gratified by the huge number of entries at a time when university staff had so many demands on their time,” Mr Gill said. “The shortlists are packed with the qualities that will carry UK higher education through this tumultuous period and on to even greater success.”

The winners of the THE Awards will be announced at a ceremony from 5pm-6pm on 26 November, following the THE Live event earlier in the day. To register, click here.

Business School of the Year

International Collaboration of the Year
Sponsored by Huawei

Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by Huawei

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
Sponsored by Advance HE

Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University
Sponsored by the National Centre for Entrepreneurship in Education

Outstanding Estates Strategy

Outstanding Library Team

Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Outstanding Support for Students
Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Outstanding Technician of the Year
Sponsored by Technician Commitment

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Research Project of the Year: STEM
Sponsored by Elsevier

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

THE DataPoints Merit Award
Sponsored by THE DataPoints

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

THE Outstanding Achievement Award

There is no shortlist for this category. The winner, chosen by Times Higher Education, will be announced at the awards ceremony.

University of the Year
Sponsored by Western Union Business Solutions

Find out more and book your front-row seat to this year’s virtual ceremony here.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.

Related articles