THE Awards 2019: shortlist announced

Nearly 80 institutions nominated across 23 categories in bigger-than-ever sector celebration

September 5, 2019

The shortlist for the 2019 Times Higher Education Awards – the annual celebration of the UK university sector which is bigger than ever this year – has been announced.

Nearly 80 institutions make the shortlists across 23 categories. This year’s awards incorporate elements from the THE Leadership and Management Awards, meaning that they will honour UK higher education institutions across a broader range of activity than ever before, in one single event.

Leading the way with four institutional nominations, plus participation in two collaborative projects that have been shortlisted, and a further two nominations for individual staff members, is Newcastle University.

The University of Worcester has five institutional nominations, plus one staff member in the running for an individual award, while the University of Nottingham has four nominations, plus one collaborative shortlisting. The University of Strathclyde and De Montfort University both lay claim to four nominations.

Strathclyde and Worcester are also among the nominees for the hotly contested University of the Year title, alongside the University of Derby, Harper Adams University, Solent University and Ulster University.

This year’s awards ceremony will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on 28 November. It will also serve as the celebratory finale of our two-day THE Live event, taking place at the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel.

For more information and tickets, visit You can learn more about THE Live at

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by Huawei

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by Advance HE

Business School of the Year

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Sponsored by Adobe

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Pearson

Research Project of the Year: STEM

Sponsored by Elsevier

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Sponsored by UKCGE

Excellence in Registry Services

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by Advance HE

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University

Sponsored by NCEE

Outstanding Strategic Planning Team

Sponsored by Microsoft

Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year

Outstanding Estates Strategy

Sponsored by Aude

Outstanding Library Team

Sponsored by Veredus

Outstanding Technician of the Year

Sponsored by Technician Commitment

Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Sponsored by THE DataPoints

For this THE DataPoints Merit Award, we used data submitted by UK institutions for our inaugural University Impact Rankings to explore their success in meeting specific United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

Outstanding Financial Performance

Sponsored by HSBC

THE Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Amity University

There is no shortlist for this category. The winner, chosen by Times Higher Education, will be announced at the awards ceremony.

University of the Year

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.

Related articles


Featured jobs