Times Higher Education Awards 2014 shortlist announced

Are you on the shortlist?

September 4, 2014

For 10 years, the Times Higher Education Awards have provided a sparkling backdrop for UK universities and colleges to celebrate the best teams and individuals in higher education, and the most successful institutions. The awards recognise exceptional talent, dedication and innovation across the board, from research to widening participation, teaching to entrepreneurship. The winners will be revealed on Thursday November at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Times Higher Education Awards 2014 shortlist:

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

  • Guildhall School of Music & Drama
  • King’s College London
  • Norwich University of the Arts
  • University of Sunderland
  • Swansea University
  • University of Winchester

Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Jisc

  • University of Aberdeen and Partners
  • Bournemouth University
  • De Montfort University
  • International State Crime Initiative (Queen Mary University of London, University of Ulster and King’s College London)
  • University of Leeds
  • The Open University

Research Project of the Year

Sponsored by the Association of Research Managers and Administrators

  • University of Dundee
  • Durham University
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Reading
  • Swansea University

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by The Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

  • University of Cumbria
  • De Montfort University
  • Durham University
  • Edge Hill University
  • University of Stirling
  • University of York

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

  • Nottingham Trent University
  • Plymouth University
  • Staffordshire University
  • University of Sunderland
  • Swansea University
  • University of the West of England

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

  • University of Edinburgh
  • Henley Business School, University of Reading
  • Kingston University
  • Newcastle University
  • The Open University
  • University of Sheffield

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

  • Lancaster University
  • University of Manchester
  • Plymouth University
  • University of Ulster
  • University of the West of Scotland
  • University of Worcester

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Veredus

There is no shortlist for this category. The winner, chosen by Times Higher Education’s editorial board, will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology

  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Essex
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • Harper Adams University
  • University of Salford

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Capita

Outstanding Support for Early Career Researchers

  • University of Bristol and Newcastle University (in collaboration with Kyoto University)
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of St Andrews and University of Dundee
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Strathclyde

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by The Higher Education Academy

  • Tina Chowdhury
    Queen Mary University of London
  • Michal Garapich
    University of Roehampton
  • May McCreaddie
    University of Stirling
  • Ian Noonan
    King’s College London
  • James Pickering
    University of Leeds
  • Melanie Stephens
    University of Salford

Most Improved Student Experience

  • University of Bradford
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • University of Chichester
  • University of Kent
  • Robert Gordon University
  • University of Surrey

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by SGH Martineau LLP

  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Greenwich
  • Imperial College London
  • Northumbria University
  • St George’s, University of London
  • University of Wolverhampton

Business School of the Year

Sponsored by Amity University

  • School of Management & Business
    Aberystwyth University
  • Henley Business School
    University of Reading
  • Northampton Business School
    University of Northampton
  • The Open University Business School
  • Salford Business School
    University of Salford
  • Sheffield Business School
    Sheffield Hallam University

Outstanding International Student Strategy

Sponsored by Password English Language Testing

  • University of Exeter
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Sunderland

Entrepreneurial University of the Year

Sponsored by NCEE

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University of Chester
  • Kingston University
  • Teesside University
  • University College London

University of the Year

Sponsored by Santander Universities

  • Birkbeck, University of London
  • Edge Hill University
  • University of Glasgow
  • Harper Adams University
  • Institute of Education, University of London
  • Swansea University

Times Higher Education free 30-day trial

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns