Kyoto University

=25 th
World Reputation Rankings 2017
=74 th
World University Rankings 2018
Yoshida-honmachi, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto, 606-8501, Japan

Kyoto University

About Kyoto University

Kyoto University is one of the most accomplished research-oriented universities in Asia. This is due to a unique approach to education and research, which encourages the creativity and dialogue essential for groundbreaking research and discoveries. Our state-of-the art laboratories and research facilities enable students and researchers to have the hands-on practical experience that is vital to their academic development. Our K.U. PROFILE (Kyoto University Programs for Future International Leaders) range of courses offers a variety of degrees entirely in English.

Explore rankings data for Kyoto University

Compare universities on their key stats

Key statistics

  • 8%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 24 : 76
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
  • 22,481
    Number of Students
  • 8.7
    No. of students per staff
Based on data collected for the 2018 World University Rankings

Where we are