THE Awards 2010

The shortlisted candidates for the Times Higher Education Awards 2010 are unveiled this week. There were almost 500 entries across the 18 categories of the awards, now in their sixth year. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on 25 November

September 23, 2010

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Research Project of the Year

  • University of Central Lancashire/University of Stirling
  • De Montfort University
  • University of Kent
  • University of Reading
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University College London

Outstanding Engineering Research Team of the Year

  • Bournemouth University
  • University of Nottingham
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of Warwick

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Kent
  • University of Manchester
  • University College Plymouth St Mark & St John
  • University of Winchester

Outstanding Support for Students

  • Bangor University
  • Birmingham City University and Birmingham City Students' Union
  • University of Essex
  • University of Leicester
  • Northumbria University
  • Sheffield Hallam University

International Collaboration of the Year

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

  • Aston University
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of East Anglia
  • North West Universities Association
  • Royal Veterinary College
  • Thames Valley University

Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development

  • Aberystwyth University
  • University of Bradford
  • University of Derby
  • University of Northampton
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • University of Winchester

Widening Participation Initiative of the Year

  • Aimhigher Greater Manchester
  • University of East London
  • Glasgow School of Art
  • The Open University and Unison Partnership
  • University of Wales Institute, Cardiff
  • University of York

Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year

  • University of Bristol
  • Harper Adams University College
  • University of Leicester
  • The Open University
  • University of Ulster
  • University of the West of England

Outstanding Support for Early Career Researchers

Entrepreneurial University of the Year

  • Brunel University
  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • Imperial College London
  • University of Plymouth
  • Teesside University

Most Improved Student Experience

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

  • Jonathan Adams, University of Northampton
  • Elizabeth Burd, Durham University
  • Quintin Cutts, University of Glasgow
  • Elizabeth Davenport, Queen Mary, University of London
  • Jon Davis, Queen Mary, University of London
  • David McCausland, University of Aberdeen
  • Nicola McDonald, University of York
  • Tony Mann, University of Greenwich
  • Wayne Martin, University of Essex
  • Carol Robinson, Loughborough University

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

University of the Year

Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement

  • Winner to be announced on the night

The Awards Judges

David Baker, deputy chair, Joint Information Systems Committee (Jisc)

Bob Burgess, vice-chancellor, University of Leicester

Chris Cobb, pro vice-chancellor, Roehampton University, and member of the Organisation Support Committee, Jisc

Margaret Dane, chief executive, Association of Graduate Careers Advisory Services

Patrick Finch, bursar and director of estates, University of Bristol

David Frost, director general, British Chambers of Commerce

Paul Hannon, director of research and education, National Council for Graduate Entrepreneurship (NCGE)

Mike Hill, chief executive, Graduate Prospects

Pat Killingley, director of higher education, British Council

Anthony McClaran, chief executive, Quality Assurance Agency

Sean Mackney, acting chief executive, Higher Education Academy (HEA)

Ben Marks, managing director, Opinionpanel research

Stephanie Marshall, director of programmes, Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

Simon Phelps, chief executive, Floodstop Ltd

Aaron Porter, president, National Union of Students

Sarah Porter, head of innovation, Jisc

Alison Price, director of educator development, NCGE

Paul Ramsden, key associate of PhillipsKPA, visiting professor, Institute of Education, and former chief executive, HEA

Ian Robertson, chief executive, NCGE

Rick Rylance, chief executive, Arts and Humanities Research Council

Bob Thackwray, director of membership and networks, Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

Lesley Thompson, director of research base, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Hugh Tollyfield, deputy director for further education and qualifications strategy, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

Shearer West, chair of the research and development group, Research Councils UK, and director of research, Arts and Humanities Research Council

John Widdowson, principal and chief executive, New College Durham

Jackie Wilbraham, R&D science policy director, AstraZeneca

Ewart Wooldridge, founding chief executive, Leadership Foundation for Higher Education.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments