THE Awards 2018 shortlist announced

List of finalists for the ‘Oscars’ of the higher education sector released

September 6, 2018
THE Awards 2017 winners

At a time when the role of universities seems to be contested from all sides, it is more important than ever to celebrate their achievements and their contribution to society. It is also all the more vital that institutions learn from best practice across the sector to ensure that they maximise their impact. Best practice abounds in the shortlist for this year’s Times Higher Education Awards: no matter the hurdles that arise, institutions continue, it seems, to clear them and smoothly accelerate towards their next goal. THE is proud to shine a spotlight on the individuals and teams who underpin this success.

This year’s THE Awards ceremony takes place on 29 November at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Full details at

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by Microsoft

Research Project of the Year: STEM

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Sponsored by Elsevier

Technological Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by Jisc

International Impact Award

Sponsored by Huawei

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by Advance HE

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Business School of the Year

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by Advance HE

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Sponsored by UKCGE

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University

Sponsored by NCEE

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

Sponsored by Adobe

Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration

Sponsored by HSBC

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Sponsored by THE DataPoints

For this THE DataPoints Merit Award, we used our World University Rankings data to compare institutions’ reputation scores with their research performance, identifying unsung heroes whose research excellence does not attract the attention it merits.

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Amity University

There is no shortlist for this category. The winner, chosen by Times Higher Education, will be announced at the awards ceremony.

University of the Year

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.