THE Awards 2009's front-runners are poised for October's revelations

The shortlist for Times Higher Education's fifth Awards ceremony has been unveiled

September 10, 2009

The 2009 Times Higher Education Awards have marked their fifth year by attracting an impressive 600 entries from 137 of the UK's higher education institutions. The individuals and universities that have made it on to our shortlist should be proud of the achievements that have made them stand out from their peers.


The line-up this year recognises outstanding achievement in 18 areas, with three new categories that recalibrate the awards to focus on the academy's core mission of research and teaching.

In terms of research, we have added the Serendipity Award, sponsored by Research Councils UK, and the Outstanding Engineering Research Team of the Year, sponsored by BAE Systems.

In teaching, it was heartening to note that the Most Innovative Teacher of the Year category attracted more than 80 entries in its inaugural appearance.

This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award became the Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award in honour of Ron Dearing, an inspiration to the sector and author of the landmark 1997 report into higher education, who died in February.

As always, shortlisting has been fiendishly difficult and time-consuming. The names on our roll of honour represent excellence in an inspirational sector. Now all that remains is to hand the even more demanding task of choosing the overall victors to our panel of specially selected judges.

The winners will be announced at the Awards evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London, on 15 October.


Patrick Finch, bursar and director of estates, University of Bristol, and chair, Association of University Directors of Estates

Paul Ramsden, chief executive, Higher Education Academy

Wes Streeting, president, National Union of Students

Ian Diamond, chair, Research Councils UK

Hugh Tollyfield, special adviser on employer engagement, Higher Education Funding Council for England

Dianne Willcocks, vice-chancellor, York St John University, and chair, Widening Access and Participation Strategic Advisory Committee, Hefce

Chris Cobb, pro vice-chancellor, Roehampton University, and member, Organisation Support Committee, Joint Information Systems Council

Philip Esler, chief executive, Arts and Humanities Research Council

Ann Mroz, editor, Times Higher Education Phil Baty, deputy editor, Times Higher Education

Outstanding Support for Early Career Researchers - Sponsored by Research Councils UK in association with Vitae

Outstanding Support for Students - Sponsored by Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative - Sponsored by Foundation Degree Forward

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology - Sponsored by Elsevier

Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year - Sponsored by Joint Information Systems Committee

Most Improved Student Experience

Research Project of the Year

Widening Participation Initiative of the Year

Outstanding Engineering Research Team of the Year - Sponsored by BAE Systems

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development - Sponsored by Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

Entrepreneurial University of the Year - Sponsored by National Council for Graduate Entrepreneurship

Serendipity Award - Sponsored by Research Councils UK

Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

There is no shortlist. The winner, chosen by Times Higher Education's editorial board, will be announced on the night of the Awards ceremony.

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

University of the Year - Sponsored by Iskandar Malaysia


Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.