National Teaching Fellows announced

UK’s only professor in education for deaf children among those winning fellowships

June 12, 2014

The UK’s only professor in deaf education and a lecturer in sexual health are among the latest higher education staff to win the sector’s most prestigious award for teaching and learning.

Wendy McCracken, professor in the education of deaf children at the University of Manchester, and David T. Evans, senior lecturer in sexual health at the University of Greenwich, are two of the 55 people named by the Higher Education Academy as National Teaching Fellows on 12 June.

The fellows were chosen from about 180 nominations submitted by higher education institutions in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and will each receive £10,000 to support their professional development in teaching.

Successful nominees had to show evidence of three criteria: individual excellence, raising the profile of excellence and developing excellence.

Awards were given to academics in various disciplines from chemistry and engineering to the arts, languages, maths, nursing, education and psychology.

Stephanie Marshall, chief executive of the HEA, said the winners shared a “commitment to learning and teaching, [a] dedication to their students, and the tenacity in sharing their expertise with others”.

“What also strikes me about our National Teaching Fellows this year is their willingness to learn from others, showing us that learning is an ongoing process from which we can all benefit,” added Professor Marshall.

2014 National Teaching Fellows
Robert AckrillNottingham Trent University
Matthew AlmondUniversity of Reading
Deborah AndersonKingston University
Jane AndersonOxford Brookes University
Jill BarberUniversity of Manchester
Derek ConnonSwansea University
Matt CookBirkbeck, University of London
Tom CrickCardiff Metropolitan University
James DavenportUniversity of Bath
Joseph DuffyQueen’s University Belfast
Robert EaglestoneRoyal Holloway, University of London
Gabriel EganDe Montfort University
Carol EvansUniversity of Exeter
David EvansUniversity of Greenwich
Glen FulcherUniversity of Leicester
Janice GidmanUniversity of Chester
Sally GrahamUniversity of Hertfordshire
Michael GroveUniversity of Birmingham
Anne HarrissLondon South Bank University
Helen HigsonAston University
Debbie HolleyAnglia Ruskin University
Sara HoustonUniversity of Roehampton
Odette HutchinsonAston University
James IntriligatorBangor University
Kirsten JackManchester Metropolitan University
Alison JamesUniversity of the Arts London
Peter KahnUniversity of Liverpool
Peter KlappaUniversity of Kent
Vini LanderUniversity of Chichester
Sue LawUniversity of Leicester
Jeremy LevesleyUniversity of Leicester
Jeff LewisCardiff Metropolitan University
Wendy McCrackenUniversity of Manchester
David MiddletonThe Open University
Clare MilsomLiverpool John Moores University
Paul MooreUniversity of Ulster
Peggy MurphyBangor University
Kevin OrrUniversity of Huddersfield
Ian PalmerUniversity of Bradford
Anya PereraWrittle College
Ruth PilkingtonUniversity of Central Lancashire
Ashley RobertsUniversity of Warwick
David RobinsonThe Open University
Stephen SterlingPlymouth University
Claire SurrUniversity of Bradford
Tim ThompsonTeesside University
Simon ThomsonLeeds Metropolitan University
Malcolm ToddLeeds Metropolitan University
Ian TurnerUniversity of Derby
Penney UptonUniversity of Worcester
Jackie WaterfieldKeele University
Ruth WhittleUniversity of Birmingham
Kim WhittlestoneRoyal Veterinary College
Peter WillmotLoughborough University
Vivien WilsonCanterbury Christ Church University

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.