Glittering prizes

December 15, 2000

The following have been elected to the Academy of Learned Societies for the Social Sciences: Ash Amin , University of Durham; Sara Arber , University of Surrey; Sue Atkins , Cabinet Office; George Bain , Queen's, University Belfast; Stephen Ball , King's College London; Peter Batey , University of Liverpool; Huw Beynon , Cardiff University; Lalage Bown , University of Glasgow ; Sally Brown , University of Stirling; Martin Bulmer , Surrey; Robert Burgess , University of Leicester; Woody Caan , University College, London; Deborah Cameron , Institute of Education; Colin Campbell , University of Nottingham; Jo Campling , publisher; Gordon Clark , University of Oxford, Peter Coleman , University of Southampton; Ron Cooke , University of York; Cary Cooper , University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology; Greville Corbett , Surrey; Bernard Crick , Birkbeck College; Miriam David , Keele University; Philip Davies , De Montfort University; Bleddyn Davies , University of Kent; Sara Delamont , Cardiff; Peter Dicken , University of Manchester; Lena Dominelli , Southampton; Mick Dunford , University of Sussex; Kenneth Dyson , University of Bradford; Judith Elkin , University of Central England; Judith Ennew ; Centre for family Research; Mary Evans , Kent; Roderick Floud , London Guildhall University; Stephen Fothergill , National Secretariat; Gordon Foxall , Keele; Nigel Gilbert , Surrey; Howard Glennerster , London School of Economics and Political Sciences; Michael Goldsmith , University of Salford; Malcolm Grant , University of Cambridge; Diana Green , Sheffield Hallam University; David Greenaway , Nottingham; Sally Greengross , Age Concern; Cliff Hague , Edinburgh College of Art; Michael Harloe , Salford; Martin Harris , Manchester; Miles Hewstone , Cardiff; Bob Holman , Social Policy Institution; Sonia Jackson , University of Wales Swansea; Marie Johnston , University of St Andrews; Heather Joshi , IoE; Roger King , University of Lincolnshire and Humberside; John Kingman , University of Bristol; Jay Kleinberg , Brunel University; Sue Lees , University of North London; Andrew Linklater , University of Wales; Philip Love , Liverpool; Estina Lyon , South Bank University; Susanne MacGregor , Middlesex University; Margaret Maden , Keele; Mary Marshall , Stirling; Gordon Marshall , Economic and Social Research Council; Eithne McLaughlin , Queen's; Jane Millar , University of Bath; Peter Mortimore , University of London; Audrey Mullender , University of Warwick; Richard Munton , UCL; Alan Murie , University of Birmingham; Dame Pauline Neville-Jones ; Judie Newman , Nottingham; Stephen Newstead , University of Plymouth; Michael Nicholson , Sussex; John Parr , Glasgow; Georgie Parry-Crooke , North London; William Paterson , Birmingham; Geoff Payne , Plymouth; Chris Phillipson , Keele; Ben Pimlott , Goldsmiths College; Derek Pugh , Open University Business School; John Punter , University of Wales Cardiff; Ceridwen Roberts , Family Policy Studies Centre; Brian Robson , Manchester; Richard Rose , Strathclyde University; Sheila Rowbotham , Manchester; Philip Schlesinger , Stirling; Peter Scott , Kingston University; Andrew Scott , Central Research Unit; Baroness Margaret Sharp ; Robin Sibson , Kent; Helen Simons , Southampton; Trevor Smith , House of Lords; Steve Smith , University of Wales, Aberystwyth; Daphne Statham , National Institute of Social Work; Fiona Steele , Queen Mary College; Margaret Sutherland , University of Leeds; Stewart Sutherland , University of Edinburgh; John Tarrant , University of Huddersfield; Laurie Taylor ; Nigel Thrift , Bristol; Graham Upton , Oxford Brookes University; Arlene Vetere , University of Reading; David Walker , The Guardian; Helen Wallace , Sussex; Margaret Walsh , Nottingham; Tony Warnes , University of Sheffield; Keith Watson , Reading; Adrian Webb , University of Glamorgan; Alan Wilson , Leeds; Graham Zellick , London.

The University of Bradford has awarded honorary degrees to broadcaster Lord Melvyn Bragg (DUniv); photographer David Bailey (DLitt); disabilities campaigner Lord Brian Rix (DUniv); Nato secretary general Lord George Robertson (LLD); physiotherapist Margaret Hollis (DSc); and race campaigners Doreen and Neville Lawrence , parents of Stephen Lawrence.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments