Glittering prizes

May 19, 2000

New fellows elected to the Royal Society this year are: Michael Akam, University of Cambridge; James Binney, University of Oxford; Brice Bosnich, University of Chicago; Cyrus Chothia, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge; Peter Cresswell, Yale University School of Medicine; Alan Davison, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; John Denton, Cambridge; Warren Ewens, University of Pennsylvania, US; Michael Fasham, Southampton Oceanography Centre; Michael Ferguson, University of Dundee; Christopher Frith, University College London; Michel Goedert, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge;

Donald Grierson, University of Nottingham; Peter Hall, Australian National University; Alexander Halliday, ETH Zurich, Switzerland; Andrew Holmes, Cambridge; Roy Jackson, Princeton University, US; Bruce Joyce, Imperial College, London; Simon Laughlin, Cambridge; Peter Leadlay, Cambridge; Anthony Legon, University of Exeter; Robert Lloyd, University of Nottingham; Robert MacKay, University of Warwick; Thomas Martin, University of Melbourne, Australia; Kiyoshi Nagai, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge; Stuart Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center, California, US; Ole Petersen, University of Liverpool; Madabusi Raghunathan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India; Tiruppattur Ramakrishnan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India; Michael Robb, King's College, London; Janet Rossant, University of Toronto, Canada; Patricia Simpson, CNRS, Strasbourg, France;

Harry Smith, University of Leicester; Peter Somogyi, Oxford; Martin Sweeting, University of Surrey; Brian Sykes, University of Alberta, Canada; James Edgar Till, University of Toronto; Paul Townsend, Cambridge; Alan Watson, University of Leeds; Ian Wilson, The Scripps Research Institute, California, US; John Woodhouse, Oxford; Adrian Wyatt, University of Exeter.

Foreign members elected to the Royal Society are: Grigory Barenblatt, University of California at Berkeley; Ronald Breslow, Columbia University, New York, US; Harry Gray, California Institute of Technology, US; Erwin Hahn, University of California at Berkeley; Martin Karplus, Harvard University, US; Mitsuhiro Yanagida, Kyoto University, Japan. Sir John Maddox KBE, formerly editor of Nature magazine, has been elected an honorary fellow.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments