Grant winners

March 6, 2008


The latest funding announcement from the ESRC commits £2.5 million to increase international collaboration with India, China, Brazil and the US in the areas of population and climate change. A total of about £13 million has been earmarked to start two new research centres in the field as well as continued support for a third centre.

Award winner: Jane Falkingham

Institution: University of Southampton

Value: £5 million

Centre for Population Change based at the universities of Southampton and St Andrews (new)

Award winner: Judith Rees

Institution: London School of Economics

Value: £4.5 million

Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy (new)

Award winner: Stephen Pudney

Institution: University of Essex

Value: £3.5 million

Research Centre on Micro Social Change (continued)

Top 10 researchers in psychiatry and psychology based on total citations
Data from Thomson Scientific’s Essential Science Indicators, 1 January 1997–31 October 2007
Num Scientist Papers CitationsCitations per paper
1Kessler, Ronald C, Harvard University School of Medicine, US138 8,514 61.70
2Biederman, J., Harvard University School of Medicine and Massachusetts General Hospital, US229 6,769 29.56
3Faraone, Stephen V., Upstate Medical Center, State University of New York, US213 6,392 30.01
4Kendler, Kenneth S, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, US176 5,978 33.97
5Rutter, Michael, King’s College London, Institute of Psychiatry, UK114 5,068 44.46
6Akiskal, Hagop S., Veterans Administration, Medical Center, San Diego, US144 4,869 33.81
7Keck, Paul E, University of Cincinnati, US135 4,838 35.84
8Murray, Robin M., King’s College London, Institute of Psychiatry, UK163 4,685 28.74
9McElroy, Susan L, University of Cincinnati, US116 4,659 40.16
10Caspi, Avshalom, King’s College London, Institute of Psychiatry, UK102 4,548 44.5
It can be noted that Biederman and Faraone were frequent co-authors on a number of highly cited papers dealing with attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder. Keck and McElroy were also frequent co-authors of a number of highly cited papers concerning schizophrenia and bipolar mania. In addition to ADHD, schizophrenia and bipolar disorder, depression, anxiety and autism were the other dominant subjects of papers by the authors listed in the table. For the current version, 2,190 authors are listed in the field of psychiatry and psychology, meaning that a total of about 219,000 author records were reviewed to obtain these results.
The data above were extracted from Thomson Scientific’s Essential Science Indicators database. This database, currently covering the period January 1997 to October 2007, surveys only journal articles (original research reports and review articles) indexed by Thomson Scientific. Articles are assigned to a category based on the journals in which they were published and Thomson Scientific’s journal-to-category field definition scheme. Both articles tabulated and citation counts to those articles are for the period indicated. Naturally, scientists publishing large numbers of papers have a greater likelihood of collecting more citations than scientists publishing fewer papers. This ranking is by total citations. For articles with multiple authors, each author receives full, not fractional, citation credit. Another ranking could be based on citations per paper, which reveals weighted impact. Essential Science Indicators lists authors ranked in the top 1% for a field over a given period, based on total citations. For more information on Thomson Scientific’s Essential Science Indicators, see
Next week: hot topics in information science: the H index


Award winner: Fang Gao Smith

Institution: University of Warwick

Value: £1,985,092

The BALTI 2 trial - a multi-centre randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial to evaluate the effect of intravenous infusions of salbutamol vs placebo on 28-day mortality in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome

Award winner: David Taggart

Institution: University of Oxford

Value: £2,663,140

The CRISP Trial - coronary artery grafting in high-risk patients randomised to off-pump or on-pump surgery

Award winner: Jane Norman

Institution: University of Glasgow

Value: £2,219,286

The OPPTIMUM trial, which aims to evaluate the effectiveness of progesterone prophylaxis for the prevention of preterm labour

Award winner: David Richards

Institution: University of York

Value: £1,830,372

The CADET Trial - multi-centre randomised controlled trial of collaborative care for depression


Award winner: Ralf Gertisser

Institution: Keele University

Value: £69,694

New insights into the deposit architecture and emplacement mechanisms of block-and-ash flows using ground-penetrating radar

Award winner: Robin Allaby

Institution: University of Warwick

Value: £43,947

Origins and evolution of ancient Egyptian cotton tracked by palaeogenomics

Award winner: Karen Anderson

Institution: University of Exeter

Value: £80,850

Remote sensing of peatland responses to hydrological change

Award winner: Sofie Sjogersten Turner

Institution: University of Nottingham

Value: £55,531

Liability of organic carbon stored in permafrost peatlands


Award winner: Thorsten Schnier

Institution: University of Birmingham

Value: £254,261

Advanced analysis of building energy performance using computational intelligence approaches

Award winner: Elise Cartmell

Institution: Cranfield University

Value: £199,108

Delivering low-carbon anaerobic wastewater treatment and renewable energy production

Award winner: Henning Sirringhaus

Institution: University of Cambridge

Value: £133,811

A novel device architecture for high-performance organic solar cells

Award winner: John Irvine

Institution: University of St Andrews

Value: £142,473

Direct carbon fuel cell system development study

Award winner: Xiao Guo

Institution: University College London

Value: £89,654

Screening new families of metal organic frameworks for hydrogen storage

Award winner: Wolfgang Langbein

Institution: Cardiff University

Value: £111,677

Spin currents and superfluidity of microcavity polaritons

Award winner: Andrew Cooper

Institution: University of Liverpool

Value: £148,315

High throughput discovery of "Hydrogel Nanoclathrates"

Award winner: Sir Peter Knight

Institution: Imperial College London

Value: £228,592

Developing coherent states as a resource in quantum technology

Award winner: Luke Wilson

Institution: University of Sheffield

Value: £157,679

Biomimetic hybrid semiconductor photovoltaic devices

Award winner: John Foord

Institution: University of Oxford

Value: £324,398

A feasibility study of a silicon enabled hydrogen fuel economy.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented


Featured jobs

Lecturer in Aviation Management

University College Birmingham

Lecturer in Cyber Security

Edinburgh Napier University

Lecturer in Criminology

Maynooth University

University Lawyer

University Of Bristol