For they are jolly good Fellows

June 25, 2010

Fifty lecturers and learning-support staff have been recognised for teaching excellence.

From a vet whose decision to retrain in computing science helped her transform veterinary education to an academic who has criticised the rise of “therapeutic education”, this year’s National Teaching Fellows were chosen by the Higher Education Academy from nearly 200 nominations across England and Northern Ireland.

Among them are an expert on assessment, Susan Orr, who is deputy dean of the Faculty of Arts at York St John University, and Sarah Baillie, senior lecturer in veterinary education, Royal Veterinary College, University of London, who developed the “Haptic Cow”, a simulator that students can use to practise internal examinations. Dr Baillie was named “Most innovative teacher” at the Times Higher Education Awards 2009.

Others to receive a fellowship include Alex Haslam, professor of social and organisational psychology at the University of Exeter, who worked on the BBC Prison Study – the basis for the BBC Two documentary The Experiment, which recreated one of the most controversial psychological experiments ever conducted – and Patricia Ashby, principal lecturer at the University of Westminster, who has helped to revive phonetics as an independent area of pedagogical practice and research.

Dennis Hayes, head of the Research Centre for Education and Career Development at the University of Derby, founder of the campaign group Academics For Academic Freedom, and co-author of The Dangerous Rise of Therapeutic Education, is also recognised.

This year the University of Warwick and the University of Exeter have three successful nominations each.

Sue Law, director of academic practice at the HEA said: “I am delighted to congratulate our new National Teaching Fellows – their commitment and dedication to supporting learning, teaching and working to maximise student potential is most impressive.”

Each winner receives £10,000. A celebration will be held in London on 29 September.

The 2010 National Teaching Fellows are:

• Patricia Ashby, principal lecturer, English linguistics and cultural studies, University of Westminster

• Sarah Baillie, senior lecturer in veterinary education, Royal Veterinary College, University of London

• Alison Barton, principal lecturer, School of Education and Social Science, University of Central Lancashire

• Simon Belt, professor of chemistry, University of Plymouth

• Vera Bermingham, director of studies, Kingston Law School, Kingston University

• Graham Berridge, senior lecturer, hospitality and tourism, Thames Valley University

• Denise Bower, professor of engineering project management, University of Leeds

• Paul Bradley, professor and director of clinical skills, University of Plymouth

• Paul Brett, head of blended learning, Institute for Learning Enhancement, University of Wolverhampton

• Sharon Buckley, education development specialist, College of Medical and Dental Sciences, University of Birmingham

• Deborah Cartmell, reader in English, De Montfort University

• John Creighton, director of the Centre of Excellence in Teaching and Learning in Applied Undergraduate Research Skill, University of Reading

• Becka Currant, dean of students, University of Bradford

• Paul Curzon, reader in computer science, Queen Mary, University of London

• Barbara Dexter, professor of personal and organisational development, University of Derby

• Sarah Jane Dickenson, deputy dean for learning and teaching, University of Hull

• Cath Ellis, head of humanities, University of Huddersfield

• Roger Eston, professor of human physiology, University of Exeter

• Andy Peter Field, professor of child psychopathology, University of Sussex

• Terry Finnigan, head of widening participation, London College of Fashion, University of the Arts, London

• Steve Gaskin, head of skills in education enhancement, University of Exeter

• Nick Grey, professor of dental education, University of Manchester

• Martin Haigh, professor of geography, Oxford Brookes University

• Adam Hart, senior lecturer, Department of Natural and Social Sciences, University of Gloucestershire

• Alex Haslam, professor of social and organisational psychology, University of Exeter

• Dennis Hayes, professor of education and head of the Research Centre for Education and Career Development, University of Derby

• Peter Hopkinson, director of education for sustainable development, University of Bradford

• Alastair Irons, head of Department of Computing, Engineering and Technology, University of Sunderland

• Christine Jarvis, dean of education and professional development, University of Huddersfield

• Christopher Johns, professor of nursing, University of Bedfordshire

• Simon Kemp, senior teaching fellow and admissions tutor for the Centre for Environmental Sciences, School of Civil Engineering and the Environment, University of Southampton

• Kevin Kerrigan, associate dean for undergraduate and clinical programmes, Northumbria Law School, Northumbria University

• David McIlroy, principal lecturer and programme leader for psychology, Liverpool John Moores University

• Catherine Montgomery, associate director for the Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning for Assessment for Learning, Northumbria University

• Susan Orr, deputy dean and professor of pedagogy in creative practice, York St John University

• Kevin Petrie, professor of glass and ceramics, University of Sunderland

• Colin Price, principal lecturer, computing, University of Worcester

• Peter Reddy, senior lecturer in psychology, associate dean for learning and teaching, School of Life and Health Sciences, Aston University

• Sarah Richardson, associate professor of history and director of the History Subject Centre, University of Warwick

• Carol Chillington Rutter, professor of English, director of the CAPITAL Centre of Excellence in Teaching and Learning, University of Warwick

• Catherine Sanderson, principal lecturer in health sciences, Leeds Metropolitan University

• Alison Shreeve, head of school, design craft and visual arts, Buckinghamshire New University

• Anthony Sinclair, senior lecturer in archaeology, director of the Higher Education Academy’s Subject Centre for History, Classics and Archaeology, University of Liverpool

• Jane Spiro, learning and teaching development leader, Institute of Education, Oxford Brookes University

• Annie Trapp, director of the Higher Education Academy Psychology Network, University of York

• Mike Wald, senior lecturer, School of Electronics and Computer Science, University of Southampton

• Gary Watt, professor of law, Warwick Law School, University of Warwick

• Anne Wheeler, head of curriculum and learner development, Centre for Learning Innovation and Professional Practice, Aston University

• James Wilkinson, senior lecturer, faculty of professional studies, Thames Valley University

• Barbara Workman, director of the Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning in the Institute of Work Based Learning, Middlesex University

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments