Glittering prizes

June 8, 2001

The National Academy of Science , United States, has elected the following British-based foreign associates: Enrico Coen , John Innes Foundation professor at the University of East Anglia and deputy head of the department of genetics at the John Innes Centre, Norwich; Peter Crane , director of the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew; Partha Dasgupta , Frank Ramsey professor in the faculty of economics and politics at the University of Cambridge; epidemiologist Sir Richard Doll ; Lord Oxburgh , former rector of Imperial College, London; and Michael Powell , John Humphrey Plummer professor of applied numerical analysis at the University of Cambridge.

The University of Portsmouth is to award honorary degrees to the following: William Haseltine , chairman of Human Genome Sciences; Robert Hillier , chairman and managing director of Hillier Nurseries Ltd; architect Ed Jones ; Christine King , vice-chancellor of Staffordshire University; Campbell McMurray , director of the Royal Naval Museum, Portsmouth; broadcaster John Peel ; Matthew Pinsent , gold medal-winning Olympic oarsman; author Terry Pratchett ; Leah Scott , pharmacologist and biomedical scientist at the Defence Evaluation and Research Agency; and bookbinder Ronald White .

Royal Holloway, University of London , will confer honorary degrees on the following: Frances Fergusson , architec-tural historian and president of Vassar College; Raghunath Mashelkar , director general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research of India; John McGrath , writer, director and founder of the 7:84 Theatre Company; and George Poste , industrial research scientist, formerly of SmithKline Beecham.

The university is also conferring an honorary fellowship on Baroness Warnock of Weeke , who served as college visitor from 1997 to 2000.

The University of Warwick will award honorary degrees to: Adrian Noble , artistic director of the Royal Shakespeare Company; Sir Stewart Sutherland , principal of the University of Edinburgh; social and cultural politics scholar Edward Said ; Helen Reeves , director of Victim Support; Paul Danie l, music director of the English National Opera; social and cultural European historian Robert Darnton , of Princeton University; Lady Murray , professor of molecular genetics at Edinburgh; Ken Pounds , professor of space physics at the University of Leicester and former chief executive of the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council; Raj Reddy , professor of com-puter science and robotics at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, United States; and blind runner Bob Matthews , para-Olympic gold medal winner.

The English Association has elected the following fellows: John Barrell , of the University of York; Catherine Belsey , of the University of Wales, Cardiff; Janet Beer , of Manchester Metropolitan University; Richard Bradford , of the University of Ulster; Neil Corcoran , of the University of St Andrews; Terry Eagleton , of the Univer-sity of Manchester; Howard Erskine-Hill , of Pembroke College, Cambridge; David Fairer , of the University of Leeds; John Fuller , of Magdalen College, University of Oxford; Andrew Hadfield , of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth; Joyce Hill , of the University of Leeds; Ronnie Jack , of the University of Edinburgh; Thomas Keymer , of St Anne's College, Oxford; Tim Kendall , of the University of Bristol; John Lucas , of Nottingham Trent University; Nicholas Marsh , of the University of London; author Blake Morrison ; Charles Moseley , of Wolfson College, Cambridge; Vincent Newey ,of the University of Leicester; Patrick Parrinder , of the University of Reading; Murray Pittock , of the University of Strathclyde; David Punter , of the University of Bristol; Donald Scragg , of the University of Manchester; David Seed , of the University of Liverpool; Marion Shaw , of the University of Loughborough; Jan Todd ,of the University of Glasgow; Katie Wales , of the University of Leeds; Cedric Watts , of the University of Sussex; Rene Weis , of University College London; Peter Widdowson , of Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education; Nigel Wood , of De Montfort University; and Henry Woudhuysen , of University College London.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns