Times Higher Education Awards 2016: winners announced

Awards were presented in 20 categories to recognise outstanding contributions in UK higher education

November 24, 2016
THE Awards 2016

The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine has been crowned University of the Year at the Times Higher Education Awards 2016.

The judges unanimously selected the school for its “extraordinary” response to the Ebola crisis. The institution established a task force to deploy teams into affected areas, and allowed experts across its faculties to turn their attention to the epidemic without risking loss of funding or income.

The awards were presented at a ceremony hosted by actor Richard E. Grant at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London. They recognised UK universities for exceptional teaching, research, student support, entrepreneurship, collaborations and outreach.

“Universities face major challenges as a result of Brexit,” said THE editor John Gill. “But the THE Awards serve as a timely reminder of just how strong they are as a group: ‘world class’ is a cliché, but an apt one in this case.”

Other winners included the University of Salford for Research Project of the Year, recognising a much-discussed study into how radiation has affected animal life in the Chernobyl area, and the University of Wolverhampton, which won the Outstanding Support for Students award for a support programme for students with suicidal thoughts.

The University of Surrey picked up the new THE DataPoints Merit Award, which acknowledges the outstanding performance of universities according to an analysis of data collected and collated by THE.

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Lord Sainsbury of Turville, chancellor of the University of Cambridge and former minister for science and innovation. “Lord Sainsbury was without doubt the most effective and supportive science minister for a generation,” said Sir Steve Smith, vice-chancellor of the University of Exeter.

See below for a list of all winners. For more detailed information, see our online winners supplement. You can view pictures from the event on our Flickr page

Times Higher Education Awards 2016 winners

University of the Year
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Entrepreneurial University of the Year
London South Bank University

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
Sara Wolfson, Canterbury Christ Church University

Outstanding Digital Innovation in Teaching or Research
University of Leeds and Leeds College of Art

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development
Royal Holloway, University of London 

Business School of the Year
Strathclyde Business SchoolUniversity of Strathclyde

THE DataPoints Merit Awards
University of Surrey

Outstanding International Student Strategy
Royal Northern College of Music

International Collaboration of the Year
The Royal College of Pathologists

Outstanding Support for Students
University of Wolverhampton

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology
Nottingham Trent University

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year
University of Winchester

Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration
Dairy Crest, in collaboration with Harper Adams University

Most Improved Student Experience
Ulster University

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year
Alys Young, University of Manchester

Research Project of the Year
University of Salford

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts
University of Central Lancashire

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
Edge Hill University

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative
Liverpool John Moores University

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award
Lord Sainsbury of Turville

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.

Related articles


Featured jobs