Shortlist announced!

February 16, 2005

More than 90 of the UK's 115 universities - ancient, old, new and very new - have taken part in this year's Times Higher Awards. The successful shortlisted candidates are listed here.

The award winners will be revealed on November 15 at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London. If you have not yet booked a table but would like to attend, please contact Kelly Booker or Jon Pressley on 0207 782 3034/3401.

  The finalists for the Times Higher awards 2007 are: Chester University   Cumbria University   City University   Manchester Metropolitan University   Leicestser University   Durham  University Aberdeen University   Kent University   Leeds Metropolitan University   Leicester University   Nottingham University
Sponsor: Hobsons
Dave Reay, Edinburgh University, Climate Change Begins at Home: Life on the Two-Way Street of Global Warming   Ruth Scurr, Cambridge University, Fatal Purity: Robespierre and the French Revolution   Nick Lane, University College London, Power, Sex, Suicide: Mitochondria and the Meaning of Life   Dan Todman, Queen Mary University of London, The Great War: Myth and Memory   Jerry Brotton, Queen Mary University of London, The Sale of the Late King’s Goods: Charles I and his Art Collection Paul Campbell, Dundee University   Samuel Chamberlain, Dept. of Psychiatry, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge University   Philip Cowley, Nottingham University   James Rubin, King's College London   Danielle Turner, Dept. of Psychiatry, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge University
Sponsor: Research Councils UK
Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community Steve Denton, Peter Rogers and David Ward – Leeds Metropolitan University   Lori Manders, External Affairs, Aberdeen University   Roger Green, Philip Waters, Terry Neville and Michael Finn – Centre for Community Research, Hertfordshire University   Tess Nixon, Hannah Compton, Ashley Petrons, Guy Meagher and Steve Moysey – Exeter University   Martin Carey, Liverpool Hope University Mark Baron, Penelope Griffin, John Clayton – The Certificate in Health Science, Nottingham and Lincoln Universities   Bernadette Lynch, Louise Sutherland, Nick Merriman and Julian Skyrme – Lifelab, Manchester Museum, Manchester University   Jan Tunnock, Allan Shedlock and Anne Chirnside –  Think Again, Napier University   Mohan Mistry, Kath Bridger – 'Understanding School' Module, Bradford University   Duncan Lawson, Lisa Ganobcsik-Williams – The Maths Support Centre and Centre for Academic Writing, Coventry University Cambridge University   Leeds University   Liverpool University   Loughborough University   Oxford University St Andrews University   Sheffield University   Stirling University   Swansea University   Warwick University Huosheng Hu, Robotic Fish, Essex University   John Pendry, Invisible Cloak, Imperial College London   Paul Longley, Richard Webber and Daryl Lloyd – Spatial Literacy Team, University College London   Irwin McLean, Eczema Gene, Dundee University   Carl Murray, Kevin Beurle, Mike Evans and Nick Cooper – Cassini Imaging Group, Queen Mary University of London Shelagh Groves and Karen Newton – Northumbria University   Kristiann Dekesel, Louise Rhodes, Jackie Turner and Sally Burrows – Wolverhampton University   Eric Neil, Marcia Graham and Paul Kent – University of Central England Birmingham   Tammy Goldfeld, Chris Hughes, Rowena Forbes and Fiona Christie – Manchester University   Chéron Stevenson, Susie Denton and Hannah Futter – Derby University
Sponsor: The Higher Education Academy
Isabel Donnelly, University of Central Lancashire   David Law, Caroline Pack, Laura Goodall and Esther Meininger – Warwick University   Mark Turnbull, Dan Ferrett, Lorna Froud, Karen Ferrett – Oxford Brookes University   Stephen Miller, Aimee Shalan, Diana McIlroy – City University   Theresa McKinven, Christine Smithson – Ustinov College, Durham University
Sponsor: The Higher Education Academy
Exilica, Coventry University   Diagnostic Monitoring Systems, Strathclyde University   Smart Surgical Appliances, Imperial College London   Syrinix, University of East Anglia   Syntopix, Leeds University
Sponsor: JISC

Matt Dollery, Darren Ackroyd and John Goodfellow – Leeds University   Helen Johnson, Sarah Hatfield, Helena Thorley – Keele University   Alan Bilsborough and Elizabeth Lovett – Durham University   Susan Jones and Ruth Farwell – Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College   Christine Coleman, Adam Bell and Marnie Jackson – OFFA Group, Edge Hill University Michelle Hockley, Mercedes Clark-Smith and Adrian Ailes – The National Archives, Kew   William Ashraf, Bradford University   David Young, Chris Newman, Ann Minton – Learning through Work Team, Derby University   Andrew Hugill, De Montfort University   Alan Salmoni, Maria Gonzales, Sian Coxall and Helen Pugsley – Cardiff University of Wales College of Medicine Philip Cohen, Dundee University   Lisa Jardine, AHRC Centre for Editing Lives & Letters, Queen Mary University London   Peter Knight, University of Central England   Ken Pounds, Leicester University   Charles Rees, Imperial College London National University of Singapore   University of Benin   University of Wollongong   Fatima Jinnah Women University   Uganda Martyrs University Paul Heaton, Penny Hatton, Joanne Ashby – Leeds University   Tony Stevenson, Lynne Howlett – Newcastle University   Anna Leach, Kay Tiller, David Langston – Oxford Brookes University   Neville Brown, Mike Pittilo and David Briggs – Robert Gordon University   Tony Cooper, Vanessa Helps, Robert Dickson – Southampton University Ewan McKendrick, Jonathan Wyatt and others – Oxford University   Mary Bownes, Jon Turner, Sheila Thompson – Edinburgh University   Julia Higgins, Bernie Morley, Esat Alpay – Imperial College, London   Christopher Wood, Michael Fuller – Plymouth University   Christian Carter, Sarah Musson, Natalie Smith – Bristol University
Sponsor: Research Councils UK
  Rob Dwyer-Joyce, Tribosonics, Sheffield University   Paul Shiels and Wayne Davies – Pathfinder Cells, Glasgow University   Martin Sweeting, Jeff Ward, David Hodgson, Wei Sun – Surrey Satellite Technology, Surrey University   Moustafa Ghanem and Yike Guo – Inforsense KDE, Imperial College London   Damian Crowther, Alzheimer's Research, Cambridge University Institute for Medical Research
Sponsor: Toshiba
Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development Victoria Hands, Ian Spencer, Jamie Quinn, Rosa Gil and Joel Kenrick – London School of Economics & Political Science   Chris Vincent, Martyn Newton and Trevor Davies – University of East Anglia   Charles Warren, Pat Willmer, Jan Bebbington – University of St. Andrews   Amanda Williams, David Lifford – Bournemouth University   Christine Shiel, Martin Foster, Andrew Simpson, Kristine Mason O’Connor – Gloucestershire University

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.