Royal Society fellows

May 23, 2003

The Royal Society has announced the election of 42 new fellows and six foreign members from the fields of science, engineering and technology.

John Barrow, professor in the department of mathematics and theoretical physics, University of Cambridge.

Jocelyn Bell Burnell, professor and dean of science faculty, University of Bath.

Mariann Bienz, senior staff member, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge.

William Bonfield, professor of medical materials, University of Cambridge.

John Brown, professor of chemistry, University of Oxford

Mark Chase, professor and head of molecular systematics section, Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.

Michael Coey, professor of experimental physics,Trinity College, Dublin.

Kay Davies, professor of anatomy, University of Oxford.

Anthony Dickinson, professor of comparative psychology, University of Cambridge.

Eleanor Dodson, professor and research fellow, University of York.

Peter Dornan, professor and head of high-energy physics research, Imperial College London.

Ann Dowling, professor of mechanical engineering, University of Cambridge.

Jeffery Errington, professor of microbiology, University of Oxford.

Roger Flectcher, Baxter professor of mathematics and professor of optimization, University of Dundee.

Roderick Flower, professor of biochemical pharmacology, Queen Mary, University of London.

Melvyn Greaves, professor and director, Leukaemia Research Fund Centre, Institute of Cancer Research, London.

Peter Green, professor of statistics, University of Bristol.

Keith Gull, professor and Wellcome Trust principal research fellow, Sir William School of Pathology, University of Oxford.

Peter Holland, Linacre professor of zoology, University of Oxford.

James Hough, professor of physics and director, Institute for Gravitational Wave Research, University of Glasgow.

Malcolm Irving, professor and director of the Randall Centre, King's College London.

Jonathan Jones, professor and senior scientist, Sainsbury Laboratory, John Innes Centre, Norwich.

Michael Klein, Earle Hepburn professor of physical science, University of Pennsylvania, US.

Alan MacDiarmid, Blanchard professor of chemistry, University of Pennsylvania, US, and James Von Her, distinguished professor in science and technology, University of Texas at Dallas, US.

Stephen Mann, professor of chemistry, University of Bristol.

Richard Nelmes, professor of physical crystallography, University of Edinburgh.

Stephen O'Rahilly, professor of clinical biochemistry and medicine, Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge.

Bridget Ogilvie, visiting professor, University College London.

Timothy Palmer, head of section, European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasts, Reading, Berkshire.

John Papaloizou, professor of mathematics and astronomy, Queen Mary, University of London.

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, professor and senior scientist, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge.

Elizabeth Robertson, professor, Harvard University department of molecular and cellular biology, US.

John Robson, senior research professor in vision science, University of Houston, US.

John Scott, professor, senior scientist and director of academic development, Vollum Institute, The Oregon Health Sciences University, US.

Richard Sibson, professor and head of department of geology, University of Otago, New Zealand.

Leon Simon, professor of mathematics, Stanford University, US.

Geoffrey Smith, professor of virology, Imperial College London.

Adrian Sutton, professor of materials, University of Oxford.

Karen Vousden, director, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow.

Andrew Watson, professor, school of environmental sciences, University of East Anglia, Norwich.

Fiona Watt, head of Keratinocyte Laboratory, Cancer Research UK, London.

Peter Wells, emeritus professor of physics and engineering in medicine, University of Bristol.

Foreign Members

Denis Baylor, professor of neurobiology, University of Stanford School of Medicine, US.

Fotis Kafatos, professor and director-general of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg, Germany.

Donald Knuth, professor emeritus, Stanford University, US, and formerly rector of the National Autonomous University of Mexico.

Valentine Telegdi, professor of physics, Eidgenössiche Technische Hochshule, Zurich, Switzerland.

Klaus von Klitzing, director at Max-Planck Institut, Stuttgart, and honorary professor at Stuttgart University, Germany.


Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments