May 14, 2009

Fraser McLeay has been appointed head of the marketing, travel and tourism management subject group at Newcastle Business School, Northumbria University. Professor McLeay has previously held posts at the University of Montana in the US, Australia's Macquarie University and Newcastle University in the UK. He is also director of Kiwi Trade and Business, a private consultancy that provides business development and marketing assistance to small and medium-sized enterprises. As part of the role, Professor McLeay will take responsibility for developing the group's business-focused research and consultancy work.

Five executive deans have been appointed at Birkbeck, University of London, as part of restructuring plans that will see the merger of its 17 existing schools into five larger ones. The new deans are: Hilary Fraser, currently head of English and humanities at Birkbeck, who will lead the School of Arts; Nicholas Keep, dean of the faculty of science, who will take charge of the School of Science; Philip Powell, who joins from the University of Bath to direct the School of Business, Economics and Informatics; Patricia Tuitt, the current head of Birkbeck's School of Law, who will continue to oversee the school; and Miriam Zukas, professor of adult education and director of the Lifelong Learning Institute at the University of Leeds, who will lead the School of Social Science.

An expert in sport psychology who used to work with Everton Football Club has joined the University of Chester. Carmel Triggs, who was a player development adviser at the Premiership club, will teach courses in sport and exercise psychology and applied sport psychology at Chester. She joins the university's department of sport and exercise sciences after three years with Everton's academy, where she worked with the club's young talent.

The Academy of Medical Sciences has named 40 new fellows, who have been honoured for their contribution to the advancement of their subject, their application of knowledge or their service to healthcare. The fellows are: Stephan Beck, professor for medical genomics, University College London; Marina Botto, professor of rheumatology, Imperial College London; Neil Burgess, Medical Research Council senior non-clinical research fellow, University College London; Andrew Carr, Nuffield professor of orthopaedic surgery, University of Oxford; Keith Channon, professor of cardiovascular medicine, University of Oxford; Patrick Chinnery, professor of neurogenetics, Newcastle University; Hilary Critchley, professor of reproductive medicine, University of Edinburgh; Michael Curtis, director, Institute of Cell and Molecular Science, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry; Jenny Donovan, head of the department of social medicine, University of Bristol; Julian Downward, associate director, Cancer Research UK, London Research Institute; William Earnshaw, Wellcome Trust principal research fellow, University of Edinburgh; Edzard Ernst, director of complementary medicine, Peninsula Medical School; Francois Guillemot, molecular neurobiology programme leader, National Institute for Medical Research; Richard Hayes, professor of epidemiology and international health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; V. Craig Jordan, Alfred G. Knudson chair of cancer research, Fox Chase Cancer Centre; Shitij Kapur, professor of schizophrenia, King's College London; Michael Kopelman, professor of neuropsychiatry, King's College London; Andrew Lees, professor of cerebrovascular medicine, University College London; John Marshall, Frost professor of ophthalmology, King's College London; Irwin McLean, professor of human genetics, University of Dundee; Matthias Merkenschlager, MRC Clinical Sciences Centre; Anne Mills, professor of health economics and policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; Andrew Morris, director, Biomedical Research Institute, University of Dundee; Kim Nasmyth, Whitley chair and head of the department of biochemistry, University of Oxford; Julian Parkhill, head of sequencing and pathogen genomics, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute; Vikram Patel, professor of international mental health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; Andrew Pickles, professor of epidemiological and social statistics, University of Manchester; Lucilla Poston, professor of maternal and foetal health, King's College London; Neil Poulter, professor of preventive cardiovascular medicine, Imperial College London; Elio Riboli, professor of cancer epidemiology and prevention, Imperial College London; Carol Robinson, Royal Society research professor, University of Cambridge; Helen Saibil, Bernal professor of structural biology, Birkbeck, University of London; Jack Satsangi, professor of gastroenterology, University of Edinburgh; Michael Schneider, head of cardiovascular science, Imperial College London; Morgan Sheng, vice-president, neuroscience, Genentech; Peter St George-Hyslop, professor of experimental neuroscience, University of Cambridge; Simon Tavare, professor of cancer research (bioinformatics), University of Cambridge; Ian Tomlinson, head of the molecular and population genetics laboratory, University of Oxford; Colin Watts, professor of immunobiology, College of Life Sciences, University of Dundee; John Wood, professor of molecular neurobiology, University College London.

Ian Peate is the new head of midwifery and nursing at Thames Valley University. He joins from the University of Hertfordshire, where he was the associate head of the School of Nursing and Midwifery. He said: "I will be working with a number of experienced academics and support staff in the school and with expert clinicians from the many health and social care partnerships that have already been established, with the key aim of providing excellence in nursing, midwifery education and ... high-quality evidence-based care."

The University of East Anglia's Philip Page has been awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry's Tilden Prize for his groundbreaking work in organic chemistry. Professor Page specialises in asymmetric synthesis and catalysis - key processes in the field of biologically active chemicals and pharmaceuticals - and has held the chair in organic chemistry at UEA since 2007. The Tilden Prize, which is awarded to mid-career scientists, was founded in 1939 to commemorate Sir William Augustus Tilden, the president of the society from 1903 to 1905.

Three appointments have been made to The Robert Gordon University's board of governors. They are: Jennifer Young, partner with Scottish law firm Ledingham Chalmers LLP, who specialises in construction law and was accredited by the Law Society of Scotland in 2003; Gregory Poon, lead nurse for Aberdeen City Community Health Partnership, who has held a number of management posts in the National Health Service in the past 20 years; and Jennifer Craw, former chief executive of Scottish Enterprise Grampian.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments