March 29, 1996


On March 14, the following were elected: Fellows

Alfred Adams, professor of physics, University of Surrey; Jan Anderson, chief research scientist, CSIRO Division of Plant Industry, Canberra, Australia; Jonathan Ashmore, professor of biophysics, University of Bristol; David Beach, senior scientist, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, United States; John Brown, lecturer in organic chemistry, University of Oxford; Christopher Dobson, lecturer in chemistry, University of Oxford; Patrick Dowling, vice chancellor and chief executive, University of Surrey; Dianne Edwards, professor of palaeobotany, University of Wales Cardiff; Peter Edwards, professor of inorganic chemistry, University of Birmingham; Andrew Fabian, Royal Society research professor at the Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge; William Feast, Courtaulds professor of polymer chemistry and director of the Leeds-Bradford-Durham interdisciplinary research centre in polymer science and technology, University of Durham; Michael Gale, associate research director, John Innes Centre, Norwich; David Gubbins, professor of geophysics, University of Leeds; Frederick Haldane, professor of physics, Princeton University US; Thomas Jessell, professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, Columbia University and investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, US; David Lane, professor in biochemistry, University of Dundee and Gibb fellow of the Cancer Research Campaign; Martin Low, professor, department of physiology and cellular biophysics at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University USA; Andrew Lyne, professor of radio astronomy, Nuffield Radio Astronomy Laboratories, Jodrell Bank, University of Manchester; Frank McCormick, founder and vice-president, Research-Onyx Pharmaceuticals, California; Iain MacIntyre, research director, the William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary Westfield College; Nicholas Manton, reader in mathematical physics, University of Cambridge; Thomas Meade, director of the Medical Research Council epidemiology and medical care unit, St.Bartholomew's and the Royal London Hospital school of medicine and dentistry and Northwick.

Park Hospital; Stewart Miller, director, engineering and technology, Rolls Royce plc; Ian Mills, emeritus professor of chemical spectroscopy, University of Reading; Mudumbai Narasimhan, director of mathematics, International Centre for Physics, Trieste, honorary fellow of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay; Linda Partridge, Weldon professor of biometry, University College London; Malcolm Peaker, director, Hannah Research Institute, Ayr; John Pickett, head of biological and ecological chemistry, IACR-Rothamsted; Peter Pusey, professor of physics, University of Edinburgh; Martin Roth, emeritus professor of psychiatry, University of Cambridge; Christopher Sachrajda, professor of physics, University of Southampton; Ekhard Salje, professor of mineral physics, University of Cambridge; Timothy Shallice, professor of psychology, University College London and professor of neuroscience International School for Advanced Studies, Trieste; Edwin Smith, emeritus professor of metallurgy and former pro vice chancellor, University of Manchester; George Smith, George Kelley reader in metallurgy, University of Oxford; David Stuart, MRC research professor of structural biology, University of Oxford; Grant Sutherland, honorary fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, director of department of cytogenetics and molecular genetics, Adelaide Children's Hospital and affiliate professor, department of paediatrics, University of Adelaide; Martin Taylor, professor of pure mathematics, UMIST; Phillip Tobias, emeritus professor of anatomy and human biology, University of the Wi****ersrand; James Whitelaw, professor of convective heat transfer, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine.

Foreign Members

James Darnell, Vincent Astor professor, Rockefeller University, New York; Jacques-Louis Lions, professor at College de France and vice president of Academie des Sciences, France; Vernon Mountcastle, emeritus professor of neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore; James Rice, Gordon McKay professor of engineering sciences and geophysics, Harvard University, US; Michael Rossman, Hanley distinguished professor of biological sciences, Purdue University, Indiana; Martin Schwarzschild, Higgins professor of astronomy emeritus, senior research associate, Princeton University, US.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. More information on NetGazette on http://thesis.newsint.co.uk

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments