Royal society fellows

June 2, 2006

Fellows for 2006: Roger Alder , Bristol University; David Barford, Institute of Cancer Research; Stephen Barnett , Strathclyde University; Allan Basbaum , University of California, San Francisco; Richard Battarbee , University College London; Axel Becke , Dalhousie University; Valerie Beral , Oxford University; Lord Browne, BP plc; Peter Donnelly , Oxford; John Eland , Oxford; David Ewins , Imperial College London; David Farmer , University of Rhode Island; Marc Feldmann, Kennedy Institute, Imperial; Charles Foxon , Nottingham University; Matthew Freeman , Medical Research Council; Karl Friston , UCL; Nigel Grindley , Yale University; Andrew Hopper , Cambridge University; Peter Hunter , Auckland University; Richard Jackson , Cambridge; Richard Jones , Sheffield University; Calestous Juma , Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Michael Lockwood , Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and Southampton University; Ruth Lynden-Bell , Queen's University Belfast and New Hall, Cambridge; Trudy Mackay , North Carolina State University; Jerrold Marsden , California Institute of Technology; Robert Martienssen , Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory; Ramesh Narayan , Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Harvard; Raymond Ogden , Glasgow University; Peter Parker , London Research Institute of Cancer Research UK; John Pearce , Cardiff University; Joseph Peiris , University of Hong Kong; Michael Proctor, Cambridge; Attaur Rahman , chairman of the Higher Education Commission, Pakistan; Helen Saibil , Birkbeck, University of London; Nicholas Shepherd-Barron , Cambridge; Austin Smith , Institute for Stem Cell Research, Edinburgh University, and Institute for Stem Cell Biology, Cambridge; Nahum Sonenberg , McGill Cancer Center, McGill University; Mriganka Sur , Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Peter West, King's College London; Nicholas White, Oxford; Sir Alan Wilson, Department for Education and Skills; David Woodruff , Warwick University; and Ziheng Yang , UCL.

Honorary fellowship member: Ralph Kohn , founder, the Kohn Foundation.

Foreign members: Kenneth Arrow , Stanford University; Edouard Brézin , French Academy of Science; Paul Crutzen , Max Planck Institute and Centre for Atmospheric Sciences, Scripps Institute of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego; Daan Frenkel , Dutch Foundation for Fundamental Research, Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, University of Amsterdam and University of Utrecht; Roger Tsien , Howard Hughes Medical Institute and University of California, San Diego; and Carl Woese , University of Illinois.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments