Glittering prizes

July 13, 2001

The following were this week elected fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering : William Banks , professor of advanced materials at the University of Strathclyde; John Billingham , head of industrial and manufacturing science at Cranfield University; Tim Berners-Lee , creator of the worldwide web and 3Com Founders professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Kenneth Board , professor of entrepreneurship at the University of Wales, Swansea; Richard Chandler , professor of geotechnical engineering at Imperial College, London; Barry Crittenden , professor of chemical engineering at the University of Bath; Peter Fryer , professor of chemical engineering at the University of Birmingham; James Gimzewski , professor of nanoscience and nanotechnology at the University of California, Los Angeles; Richard Godwin , head of agricultural and biosystems engineering at Cranfield University; Peter Gregson , deputy vice-chancellor of the University of Southampton; Martyn Harris , research professor of electromechanics at Southampton; Anthony Hey , director of e-science at the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; David Hight , director of the geotechnical consulting group at Imperial; Richard Holdaway , director of space science and technology at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory; Thomas Hyde , head of mechanical materials,

manufacturing engineering and management at the University of Nottingham; David Lerner , professor of environmental engineering at the University of Sheffield; John Lloyd , emeritus professor of hydrogeology at the University of Birmingham; David Potter , founder of Psion and former physicist at Imperial; David Potts , head of soil mechanics at Imperial; John Shannon , professorial research fellow at the University of Surrey; Madan Singh , professor of computation, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology; Rodney Smallwood , professor of medical engineering at Sheffield; Robin Smith , head process integration, Peter Stansby , professor of hydrodynamics; and Frank Stott , professor of corrosion science and engineering, UMIST; Geoffrey Tomlinson , research director for engineering and physical science at Sheffield; and Roger Whatmore , professor of engineering nanotechnology at Cranfield. The academy also elected as foreign members: Constantine Arcoumanis , professor of mechanical engineering at City University; Axel Carlsson , president of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences; and Satoru Yanabu , professor of electrical engineering at Tokyo Denki University. Sir Alec Broers , vice-chancellor of the University of Cambridge, was confirmed as president.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments