Queen's Birthday honours

六月 19, 1998


Joseph Rotblat, professor, for services to international understanding.

Knights Bachelor

Philip Cohen, director, MRC Protein Phosphorylation Unit and Royal Society research professor at the University of Dundee, for services to biochemistry. Charles George, professor of clinical pharmacology and dean of medicine, health and biological sciences, University of Southampton, for services to medicine and medical education. Brian Jarman, GP and professor of primary health care, Imperial College School of Medicine for services to general practice. Elihu Lauterpacht, for services to international law. Alexander Macara, chairman, Council of the British Medical Association.

Netar Prakash Mallick, professor of renal medicine, University of Manchester, for services to nephrology. Nicholas Shackleton, director, Goodwin Institute for Quaternary Research, University of Cambridge, for services to earth sciences. David Watson, director, University of Brighton. Peter Williams, chairman, Oxford Instruments plc, for services to science and technology.

Companion of the Order of the Bath

Nicholas Sanders, director, School Curriculum Funding and Teachers, DFEE. Sarah Tyacke, chief executive, Public Record Office.

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire Gillian Beer, King Edward VII professor of English literature and president, Clare Hall, University of Cambridge. Lorna Boreland Kelly, chair of governors, Lambeth College. Betty Kershaw, president, Royal College of Nursing.


Linda Ammon, divisional manager, Choice and Careers Division, DFEE. Keith Boddy, professor, for services to the NHS and to radioactive waste management. Vernon Bogdanor, professor, for services to constitutional history. June Crown, president, faculty of public health medicine. Matthew Evans, chairman, Library and Information Commission. Stephen Glaister, LSE, services to transport, Jack Hardcastle, professor of surgery, University of Nottingham. Archibald Howie, professor of physics, University of Cambridge, for services to electron microscopy. Ann Hubbard, teacher at Reigate College, for services to the promotion of chemistry education. Michael Hughes, for services to the Foresight Panels and to the finance industry.

Chris Humphries, chief executive, Training and Enterprise National Council. Shuyler Jones, for services to the Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford University. Harry Keen, professor, for services to the British Diabetic Association and to the NHS Support Federation. Thomas Kibble, professor of theoretical physics, Imperial College, London. John Leighfield, chairman, Alliance of Information System Skills Group, for services to training and development. Peter Lillford, professor and principal scientist, Unilever Research. Denis Noble, Burdon Sanderson professor of cardiovascular physiology, University of Oxford. Catherine Peckham, professor of paediatric epidemiology, Institute of Child Health. Charles Ruckley, professor of vascular surgery, University of Edinburgh.


Kay Andrews, director, Education Extra, for services to extra-curricular education. Brian Arnold, professor and head of school of science education, Northern College, Aberdeen.

Robert Avery, principal lecturer and Russian interpreter, Ministry of Defence. Seaton Baxter, professor, for services to Scottish Natural Heritage. Robert Bloomer, for services to Rotherham Chamber of Commerce Training and Enterprise. Egbert Carless, chair of corporation, Handsworth College Group, for services to education and the community. Marcella Chamberlain, professor, for services to rheumatological rehabilitation. Matthew Clark, professor and chief executive, Broads Authority. Veronica Clayton, professor, for services to the Royal Military School of Music. Diana Dunstan, director of research management, Medical Research Council.

Robert Glendinning, pro-chancellor and lately chairman of the board of governors, University of the West of England. Aileen Graham, for services to education. Frederick Hibbert, professor and director of academic quality, Southampton Institute. John Hill, for services to further and higher education.

Ronald Jones, professor, veterinary anaesthesia, University of Liverpool.

Susan Lyons, professor, managing director Rolls-Royce Military Aero Engines Ltd. David Mackay, professor, director of North Region, Scottish Environment Protection Agency. Michael Mallett, professor of history, University of Warwick. Ann Matheson, keeper, Department of Printed Books, National Library of Scotland. Thomas McGrenary, principal of Cumbernauld College. Elizabeth McNair, for services to the reorganisation of nursing, midwifery and health visitor training and to nursing quality, Antrim. John Midgley, professor, for services to the British Pharmacopoeia Commission and to regulatory medicine. James Moore, for services to the Fulbright Commission. John Morton, professor, director MRC Cognitive Development Unit, for services to psychology and child development. Stanley Nelson, district manager, employment service, DFEE. Clive Perry, professor, festival director, Pitlochry Festival Theatre. David Rye, professor, for services to nurse education, Woking. Brian Staines, professor, member of the Deer Commission for Scotland.

William Swindall, professor, for services to analytical science.


Stewart Allen, lately chief technician, educational development unit, Robert Gordon University, for services to research projects. Shirley Allchin, honours secretary, DFEE. Moira Bruce, head of pathology and pathogenesis, Institute for Animal Health, for services to the understanding of Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies.

Geoffrey Bryant, for services to the Workers' Educational Association, North Lincolnshire. John Carmack, grounds superintendent, University of the West of England. Noel Champion, employment service, DFEE. Diana Chapman, senior appointments secretary to the Royal Society. Mary Connolly, for services to the catering industry, Portstewart, Co. Londonderry. Anne Crews, research grant support officer, Birkbeck College, University of London. Anthony Crocker, for services to employment training in Cardiff. Sheila Dillon, domestic bursar, Newman College, Birmingham. David Dower, head of sports, Bournemouth University. Penelope Francis, puppetry tutor, Central School of Speech and Drama. David Goodridge, for services to laboratory control systems at the Institute for Animal Health, Bisley. John Harding, historian, Ministry of Defence. Marie Hendy, administrative officer, DFEE.

Gina Higginbottom, lecturer in nursing, University of Sheffield. Martin Igoe, senior training adviser, for services to the Benevolent Fund for Education and Employment. George Joynson, assistant estates project manager, employment service, DFEE. Barbara Large, lately education co-ordinator, HM Prison Haslar. George Macartney, for services to the community of Co. Armagh and to education. John Monaghan, professorial fellow, University of Edinburgh, for services to chemistry. Lesley Morgan, chief pharmacy technician, for services to pharmaceutical education in Wales.

Terence Parry, for services to employment training in Cardiff. George Paterson, employment service, DFEE. Juliet Pierce, for services to curriculum development and FE in Wales. John Seaman, for services to education in Cambs. Colin Shock, for services to the community, especially law and order and education in Notts. Richard Templeton, for services to the waste management industry Training and Advisory Board. Brian Tierney, for services to the Construction Industry Training Board. David Whatmuff, for services to the South and East Cheshire Education and Business Partnership. Catherine Wilson, manager of schools and colleges education, Institute of Physics.



  • 注册是免费的,而且十分便捷
  • 注册成功后,您每月可免费阅读3篇文章
  • 订阅我们的邮件
Please 登录 or 注册 to read this article.