October 5, 2001


Royal Northern College of Music
The following have been appointed:

Melinda Maxwell , director of woodwind studies; Linda Merrick , director of performance studies and senior tutor in clarinet.

The school of strings tutorial team has appointed bass players: Yi Xin Han , Jiri Hudec and Joseph Neiderhammer (the latter both visiting tutors); violinists: Leland Chen and Thomas Kemp ; Liwei Qin , cellist, and Louise Lansdown , viola player.

Murray MacLachlan will join the school of keyboard studies. David Horne and Mary Brennan , tutors in the schools of composition and vocal studies respectively.

University of Strathclyde

Stephen Gibb
and Nik Bozionelos of the department of human research management have been appointed editor and associate editor (respectively) of Career Development International , a journal publishing research on career management.

City University, London

Julius Weinberg, deputy vice chancellor and pro vice chancellor for research has been appointed to direct the university's institute of health sciences.

University of Brighton
Recent appointments:

Sharon Jones , deputy registrar and secretary.
Geoff Fayers
, network servies manager.
Kevin Pickess
, senior assistant registrar (recruitment and admissions).
Wendy Pickess
, faculty officer in the faculty of business.
Barry Siterer
, lecturer in the centre for learning and teaching.
Laura Etkin
, administrative assistant in the centre for learning and teaching.

University of the West of England

The University has awarded the title of Business Fellow to four members of staff in recognition of their excellent record in working with industry. Steve Hoskins , David Wornham and John Lanham . Richard Luxton will take up his appointment in February 2002.

University of Leicester
The following appointments have been made:

Nigel Aston , formerly senior lecturer in modern history at the University of Luton, as lecturer in early modern European history.
Dr Marcello Felisatti , formerly research fellow, Il Universita degli Studi di Roma, as Lecturer in mathematics in the department of mathematics and computer science.
Dr Michael Tretyakov , formerly lecturer at the University of Swansea, as a lecturer in mathematics. Janet Berry , formerly environmental control officer at the Conservation Centre, National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside, Liverpool, as a lecturer in the department of museum studies.
Dr Karim Khalid , formerly SHO in general psychiatry, Leicestershire and Rutland Healthcare, as a lecturer in child and adolescent psychiatry.
Dr Janet Greenlees , formerly ESRC research fellow at the University of Exeter, as a lecturer in the department of economic and social history.
Dr Mark Shiel , formerly lecturer in film studies at Sheffield Hallam University, as lecturer in the Department of History of Art.
Dr John Hennessy , formerly Research Associate at Aberystwyth University, as temporary Lecturer in Genetics.
Dr Hella Eckhardt , formerly lecturer in Roman archaeology and history at the University of Cardiff, as lecturer in Archaeology.
Dr D.J. Adam , formerly specialist registrar in General and Vascular Surgery at Queen Margaret Hospital, Dumfermline, as a lecturer (clinical) in the department of surgery.


The Atkins Prize for best dissertation on the MSc programme in transport engineering and planning at the University of Salford was presented by W.S. Atkins Consultants Ltd to Nikolaos Volakos , whose research described development of a computer model to stimulate traffic flow and vehicle interaction.

City and Guilds Awards
A medal for customer service has been presented to Julie McCreadie , a librarian at Brymbo Library in Wrexham and and NVQ Level 3 student at the Welsh College of Horticulture.

2001 Science Engineering & Technology Student of the

Overall winner is James Birtwhistle of the University of Loughborough.

Unilever Award for the Best Biology Student has been awarded to Joseph Parker , Imperial College, for Body Plan Evolution in Pselaphinae.

BOC Group Award for the Best Chemical Engineering Student has been awarded to Mohammed El-Bachir , University of Sheffield, for Down-Hole Electricity Generator.

World Leadership Forum Award for the Best Chemistry Student has been awarded to Caroline Wright , University of Cambridge, for the Synthesis of a Marine Product.

Institution of Civil Engineers Award for the Best Civil Engineering Student has been awarded to Rachel Battilana , University of Cambridge, for Design of an Emergency Refugee Shelter

MISYS Award for the Best Computer or Computer Software Student has been awarded to Hanna Wallach , University of Cambridge, for Computer Aided Design Constraints.

BTexact Technologies Award for the Best Electrical Engineering Student has been awarded to Marko Bacic , University of Oxford, for Helicopter Instrumentation and Control.

Spirent Award for the Best Electronic Engineering Student has been awarded to Marc Lien , University of Birmingham, for Wireless Telemetry Monitoring Software.

Cadbury Schweppes Award for the Best Food Technology Student has been awarded to Jonathan Wright , University of Nottingham, for Location of Phenolic Compounds.

Lloyd's Register Award for the Best Maritime Technology Student has been awarded to David Boden , University of Plymouth, for Wash from High Speed Craft.

Morgan Crucible Award for the Best Materials Student has been awarded to Christopher Rawlings , University of Cambridge, for Music to the Masses.

GKN Award for the Best Mechanical Engineering Student has been awarded to James Birtwhistle , University of Loughborough, for Micro Air Vehicles.

GlaxoSmithKline Award for the Best Pharmacology Student has been awarded to Dorothy Kean , Queen's University Belfast, for Effects of 2APB on Calcium Release in Smooth Muscle.

QinetiQ Award for the Best Physics Student has been awarded to Darren Graham of UMIST, for Rockiet Championships.

Royal Institute of British Architects

2001 Downland Prize winners:

Overall winner, Rex Milton , Format Milton Architects Ltd.
Commended, Alan Drury , Alan Drury Architects;  Guy Thompson , Norman & Dawbarn Ltd;  Neil Holland , Neil Holland Architects.
Special Prize, Roger Wing , Roger Wing & Assosicates.

The Languages for Business Unit at the University of Strathclyde has been selected Scottish winner of the Language Services Awards in the National Languages for Export Awards 2001 .

Chris Huxham and Siv Vangen , of the University of Strathclyde's graduate school of business have won the prize for best published paper from the Academy of Management, Public and Non-Profit Division for 2000.


Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments