Grant winners

April 30, 2009


Three research hubs to develop digital technology in UK universities have been announced. They will share £36 million from the EPSRC under the first phase of its digital economy programme. They will focus on the transport, creative industries and healthcare sectors, researching digital technologies that can help transform the way they operate.

Award winner: Tom Rodden

Institution: University of Nottingham

Value: £12 million

Developing business opportunities and transport

Award winner: Paul Watson

Institution: Newcastle University

Value: £12 million

New technology for social inclusion


The Newton International Fellows have been awarded grants of up to £68,000 by the national academies to work at UK research institutions for two years. Following on from last week, here are some more of the 51 winners.

Award winner: Jing Chen

Institution: University of Cambridge

Improving the intelligibility of speech in noise and competing speech for the hearing impaired

Award winner: Javier Carrasco

Institution: University College London

Towards a first-principles understanding of heterogeneous ice nucleation on the nanoscale

Award winner: Elena del Valle

Institution: University of Southampton

Quantum information processing with Bose-Einstein condensates of microcavity polaritons

Award winner: Sheila Wang

Institution: University of Cambridge

Elucidating the structure of an inhibitor-bound proteasome complex by mass spectrometry

Award winner: Tamas Nepusz

Institution: Royal Holloway, University of London

Overlapping community detection methods for biological applications

Award winner: Pedro Lacerda

Institution: Queen's University Belfast

Extreme objects in the outer solar system

Award winner: Jie Wang

Institution: Durham University

Simulating the structure formation of the Milky Way

Award winner: Yvonne Peters

Institution: University of Manchester

The top quark as window to new physics

Award winner: Simona Irrera

Institution: University College London

Molecular modelling of DNA/RNA bases on metal surfaces

Award winner: Luis-Miguel Chevin

Institution: Imperial College London

Adaptation and persistence of fragmented populations in a changing environment

Award winner: Emiliano Merlo

Institution: University of Cambridge

The molecular switch underlying the transition between reconsolidation and extinction of fear memory

Award winner: Martha Nari Havenith

Institution: University College London

A causal role for oscillations in cortical sensory processing? A direct test

Award winner: Mor Salomon-Botner

Institution: Lancaster University

Catering to omnivore nutrition as a tool to optimise biological pest control

Award winner: Neel Dhruv

Institution: University College London

Quantitative analysis of cortical response dependence on network activity

Award winner: Folarin Oguntoyinbo

Institution: Institute of Food Research

Identification of multifunctional lactic acid bacteria for use as probiotic starter cultures during fermented cereal-based food production

Award winner: German Tischler

Institution: King's College London

Indexing texts for approximate searches

Award winner: Ruth Martinez-Casado

Institution: Imperial College London

He-atom diffraction on metal-oxide surfaces from first principles

More Newton International Fellowship winners

Award winner: Uchechukwu Vincent

Institution: University of Lancaster

Synchronisation and transport control in ensemble of globally coupled ratchets

Award winner: Marianna D’Arco

Institution: University College London

Study of the molecular basis of alpha2delta-1 up-regulation in DRG neurons

Award winner: Stefan Pulver

Institution: University of Cambridge

Neural circuits and behaviour in drosophila larvae

Award winner: Valentina Caorsi

Institution: Imperial College London

Myosin head movement in contracting muscle fibres detected by Förster resonance energy transfer

Award winner: Araceli Grande-Garcia

Institution: Cancer Research UK (LRI & clinical units)

The origin and role of carcinoma-associated fibroblasts in breast cancer

Award winner: Ali Naji

Institution: University of Sheffield

Electrostatics of strongly coupled charged soft matter

Award winner: Nadine Becker

Institution: University of Bristol

Co-ordinated cortical and hippocampal activity during cognition and sleep

Award winner: Neeraj Rastogi

Institution: University of East Anglia

Soluble iron in marine atmospheric aerosols

Award winner: Chiara Franceschini

Institution: School of Advanced Study

On the edges: the unchristened dead and their fate in the Western tradition

Award winner: Fiona McBryde

Institution: University of Bristol

Brainstem leukotriene B4 as a mediator of neurogenic hypertension


Award winner: John Farrington

Institution: University of Aberdeen

Value: £12 million

Transforming rural economies

Aberdeen's research hub will focus on aspects of rural life that could be revolutionised by digital technologies. Looking at issues such as access to broadband, public transport and health, scientists will work in remote parts of the UK to develop solutions that could be introduced nationally. The hub will work with potential users and organisations to find technologies that could improve rural provision.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments