Grant winners

June 12, 2008


Details of the ten joint AHRC/EPSRC collaborative research studentships made as part of the joint science and heritage research programme. The awards allow doctoral students to conduct research with a non-academic body and to gain experience outside academia. Each award is worth about £55,000 over three years.

- Award winner: Chris Carr

Institution: University of Manchester

Non-academic partner: Historic Royal Palaces

Investigation into structural analysis and associated conservation support strategy in the display of large historic tapestries and textiles

- Award winner: Chris Carr

Institution: University of Manchester

Non-academic partner: British Museum

Interventive conservation of black-dyed organic materials - the problem of metal-polyphenol complexes

- Award winner: Andrew Wilson

Institution: University of Bradford

Non-academic partner: National Museums Liverpool

Sustainable radiography for cultural materials in the 21st century: optimising filmless capture techniques

- Award winner: Alison Hulme

Institution: University of Edinburgh

Non-academic partner: National Museums of Scotland

Historic dye analysis: method development and new applications in cultural heritage

- Award winner: Martin Bell

Institution: University of Reading

Non-academic partner: English Heritage

In situ preservation of wetland heritage: hydrological and chemical change in the burial environment of the Somerset Levels

- Award winner: Matija Strlic

Institution: University College London

Non-academic partner: National Archives

Lifetime of colour photographs in mixed archival collections

- Award winner: Christopher Hall

Institution: University of Edinburgh

Non-academic partner: National Museums of Scotland

Deterioration and conservation of historic concrete structures: the National Museum of Flight military airfield at East Fortune

- Award winner: Peter Brimblecombe

Institution: University of East Anglia

Non-academic partner: English Heritage

Preparing historic collections for climate change

- Award winner: Karen Wilson

Institution: University of York

Non-academic partner: York Minster

Weathering and decay in historical magnesian limestone: the application of X-ray techniques to inform cathedral conservation

- Award winner: Haida Liang

Institution: Nottingham Trent University

Non-academic partner: English Heritage

Non-invasive methods for in situ assessing and monitoring the vulnerability of rock-art monuments


- Award winner: Peter Slater

Institution: University of Surrey

Value: £98,661

Nanoparticulate mixed metal oxides as electrode materials for Alkaline Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cells (APEMFCs)

- Award winner: Nigel Poolton

Institution: Aberystwyth University

Value: £216,413

Advanced optical micro-imaging methods for determining the structural and chemical state of materials: development of, and access to, equipment

- Award winner: Phil Bartlett

Institution: University of Southampton

Value: £102,696

Rapid DNA fingerprinting.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments