Grant winners

December 3, 2009


About EUR325 million (£296 million) has been awarded by the ERC to the winners of its second Starting Grant competition. The awards, worth up to EUR2 million each, will be provided to early-career researchers over five years to aid their studies. UK-based researchers in the life sciences, social sciences and humanities are listed below: the winners in other disciplines will be published in future weeks.

Life sciences

Award winner: Colin Akerman

Institution: University of Oxford

Activity dependent signalling in radial glial cells and their neuronal progeny

Award winner: Jason Scott Carroll

Institution: Cancer Research UK

Chromatin mediators of oestrogen-receptor biology

Award winner: QueeLim Ch'ng

Institution: King's College London

From environment to physiology: neuroendocrine circuits and genetic mechanisms that modulate ageing and development

Award winner: David Choi

Institution: University College London

Source and efficacy of human olfactory ensheathing cells in the repair of brachial plexus avulsion

Award winner: Daniel Stuart Elson

Institution: Imperial College London

Optical platform for therapy and diagnostic imaging in minimally invasive surgical endoscopy

Award winner: Kevin Richard Foster

Institution: University of Oxford

Social interactions in microbes

Award winner: Thimo Kasimir Kurz

Institution: University of Dundee

Regulation and function of Cullin-Ring E3 ubiquitin ligases and the Nedd8 ubiquitin-like protein-modification system

Award winner: Bing Song

Institution: University of Aberdeen

Repair spinal cord injury by controlling migration of neural stem cells: multidisciplinary approaches of electric stimulation and nanotechnology

Award winner: Philip Anthony Wigge

Institution: John Innes Centre

Temperature perception and signal transduction in plants


Award winner: Andrew Bremner

Institution: Goldsmiths, University of London

Human embodied multisensory development: an investigation of the construction of embodied multisensory experience in human infancy and early childhood

Award winner: Michael Bruter

Institution: London School of Economics

Inside the mind of a voter: memory, identity and electoral psychology

Award winner: Giovanna Colombetti

Institution: University of Exeter

Emoting the embodied mind

Award winner: Hein Gysbert de Haas

Institution: University of Oxford

The determinants of international migration: a theoretical and empirical assessment of policy, origin and destination effects

Award winner: Guido Giglioni

Institution: University of London

The medicine of the mind and natural philosophy in early modern England: a new interpretation of Francis Bacon

Award winner: Sokbae Lee

Institution: University College London

Research on microeconometrics: econometric theory and applications

Award winner: ystein Linnebo

Institution: University of Bristol

Plurals, predicates and paradox: towards a type-free account

Award winner: Phanish Puranam

Institution: London Business School

Foundation of organisation design

Award winner: Balazs Szentes

Institution: University College London

Evolutionary approaches towards preferences

Award winner: Silvana Tenreyro

Institution: London School of Economics

Research on economic fluctuations and globalisation

Award winner: Simone Turchetti

Institution: University of Manchester

The Earth under surveillance: climate change, geophysics and the Cold War legacy

Award winner: Sari Wastell

Institution: Goldsmiths, University of London

Bosnian bones, Spanish ghosts: “Transitional Justice” and the legal shaping of memory after two modern conflicts


ERC Advanced Investigator Award

Award winner: Gill Valentine

Institution: University of Leeds

Value: EUR2.2 million (£1.9 million)

Living with difference in Europe: making communities out of strangers in an era of super mobility and super diversity

Addressing the rising levels of insecurity generated by post-9/11 terrorism and the current global financial crisis, Professor Valentine will research how communities can develop the capacity to live with difference in an era of unprecedented mobility and population change. The Advanced Investigator Award will also create a four-year fixed-term lectureship, and bring six postdoctoral researchers and two doctoral studentships to the institution.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments