Glittering prizes

July 30, 1999

The Royal Academy of Engineering has given fellowships to: Anthony Ball, director of materials engineering, University of Cape Town; Yvonne Barton, chairman of British Gas Asia Pacific Pte Limited; Robert Benaim, chairman, Robert Benaim and Associates; Roger Benson, chief engineer ICI manufacturing technology

Peter Brook, visiting professor, Cranfield University; David Brown, chairman, Motorola Ltd; John Charles, technical director, Centre for Ground Engineering and Remediation; Michael Cowlishaw, IBM UK; David Crolla, professor of automotive engineering, University of Leeds; John Crowcroft, professor of networked systems, University College London; Graham Davies, head, BT corporate research programme; Peter Denyer, managing director, Vision Group plc; Michael Dickson, chairman, Buro Happold Consulting Engineers; Christopher Earnshaw, group engineering & technology director, BT plc

William Edgar, group director, Wood Group; Peter Flewitt, branch manager, BNFL Magnox Generation; Michael Forde, head, institute of research in engineering, University of Edinburgh; Stephen Furber, professor of computer engineering, University of Manchester; David Garrood, director, Advent Communications Limited; Geoffrey Gilbert, professor of sociology, University of Surrey; William Heafield, operations and technical director, BNFL Engineering Ltd; Julia Higgins, professor of polymer science, Imperial College; Ralph Hooper, former deputy technical director, British Aerospace; Guy Houlsby, professor of civil engineering, University of Oxford; Richard Kitney, professor of biomedical systems engineering, Imperial College; Michael Leschziner, professor of computational fluid dynamics, UMIST; Pamela Liversidge, managing director, Quest Investments; Michael Low, managing director, British Energy Generation Ltd; Murray Mackay, professor emeritus of transport safety, University of Birmingham; John Miles, director, Ove Arup Partnership Advanced Technology Group; Alan Morris, head, department of Aerospace Science, Cranfield University; Graham Nudd, chairman computer science department, University of Warwick; Richard O'Reilly, manager, Air Products and Chemical Ltd; Minoo Patel, Kennedy professor, University College London; Peter Ramsdale, technical director of Mercury One-2-One; William Reid, director, Thorburn Colquhoun; Adrian Reynard, chairman, Reynard Racing Cars Ltd; Brian Scarlett, professor of particle technology, Delft University of Technology; Roderick Smith, research chair in advanced railway technology, University of Sheffield; Sir Donald Spiers, chairman Meggitt plc; John Trewby, naval adviser to British Aerospace; Trevor Truman, former director of engineering, British Aerospace plc; Kenneth Wallace, chairman, engineering design centre, University of Cambridge.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.