February 7, 1997

Unesco. Federico Mayor, director general of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, has set up a 56-member international scientific advisory board to encourage greater influence by scientists on public policy. The board is chaired by Swiss Nobel microbiologist Werner Arber. British members include Sir Mark Richmond of UCL's school of public policy and engineer and consultant Martin Lees.

The full list of members of the council is as follows: Jorge Allende, University of Chile; Werner Arber, Biozentrum, University of Basle; Paul Berg, Stanford University; Ana Mar!a Cetto, National Autonomous University of Mexico; Jean-Pierre Changeux, Pasteur Institute; George Charpak, CERN; Jean Dausset, French Academy of Sciences; James Dooge, University College Dublin; Marianne Grunberg-Manago, president of the French Academy of Science; Wadi Haddad, World Bank; Wakako Hironaka, member of the Chamber of Counsellors, Japan; Khwaji Hosain, ambassador, Pakistan's permanent delegation to Unesco; Masao Ito, president of the Science Council of Japan; Kunthala Jayaraman, director of the biotechnology centre Anna University, Madras; Martin Lees, International Committee for Economic Reform and Cooperation; Jane Lubchenko, president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; Julia Marton-Lefevre, executive director of the International Council of Scientific Unions; Mambillikalathil Menon, India; Khotso Mokhele, Foundation for Research Development; Jesus Moneo, Club of Rome, Spain; Luc Montagnier, president of the World Research Foundation for the prevention of AIDs, France; Thomas Odhiambo, chairman of Third World Kenya National Academy of Sciences; David Ottoson, secretary general, International Organisation for Neurological Research; Jacob Palis, secretary of the International Mathematics Union, Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics, Brazil; Rem Petrov, vice president of the Russian Academy of Science; Ilya Prigogine, director of the International Institute of Physics and Chemistry, Belgium; Chintamani Rao, president of Jawarharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research; Mark Richmond, school of public policy, University College London; Thomas Rosswall, rector of the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences; Carlo Rubbia, CERN; Albert Sasson, Morocco; Ismail Serageldin, vice president, Environmentally Sustainable Development, World Bank; M. Siamwiza, National Council for Scientific Research, Zambia; Maxine Singer, president of the Carnegie Institute in Washington; Monkombu Swaminathan, director of the Centre for Research on Sustainable Agricultural and Rural Development; Jose Vargas, minister for science and technology, Brazil; Zhou Guangzhao, president of the Chinese Academy of Science.

Ex officio members: Attia Ashour, president of the International Centre for Pure and Applied Mathematics; Donald Langenberg, chairman of the advisory board to the Council for Physics; Albert Fischli, Committee for Education of Chemistry; Ernesto Carafoli, president International Organisation for Cell Research; Georges Cohen, executive secretary of the International Organisation for Cell Research; Santiago Grisolia, president of the Unesco coordinating committee for the human genome programme; Angelo Azzi, president, Network for Molecular and Cellular Biology; Indra Vasil, president of the advisory board to the Council for Physical Biotechnology; Edward Derbyshire, president of the International Geological Correlation Programme; Geoffrey Holland, president of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission; Isaac Muzila, president, International Hydrology Programme; Peter Bridgewater, president, Programme for Man and the Biosphere; Francesco di Castri, president, Unesco CNUED Committee; Joshua Lederberg, president of the International Council for Global Communication of Science; Antonio Ruberti, president of the Gene Forum; Wataru Mori, president of the International Association of Universities.

New College, Edinburgh

Ruth Page, head of the department of theology and religious studies at the college, has been appointed as its first female principal.

Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils The CCLRC has appointed Henry Hutchinson, professor and director of the Blackett Laboratory Laser Consortium at Imperial College, to the post of director of the Central Laser Facility at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.

University of Surrey

I. Vlachonmikolis, former lecturer in statistics at Loughborough University of Technology, has been appointed reader in clinical/medical statistics.

Nottingham Trent University

Chris Parker, headmaster of Nottingham High School, and Raymond Ruse, head of the public sector and institutional finance department at the TSB Bank have been appointed to the university's board of governors.

Library Association

Judith Elkin, professor and head of the school of information studies at the University of Central England in Birmingham, has been elected as one of four national councillors for the association.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs

Lecturer in Economics

Royal Holloway, University Of London

Math Faculty

Khalifa University

Research Assistant

United Arab Emirates University