January 4, 2002


University of Cambridge
Nick Tippler
, former registrar at Homerton College, has been appointed head of admission at the board of graduate studies.

Tom Hinchcliffe
, chairman of BCS Computer Conservation Society (North), former managing director with Ferranti/ICL and winner of Japan's Naruto Medal in 1998, has been elected chairman of the university's council.

Department for Education and Skills
Richard Handover
, group chief executive of WH Smith has been appointed chair of the Adult Learning Inspectorate; David Hopkins, professor of education at the University of Nottingham and a chair of Leicester City LEA Partnership Board, has been appointed director of the Standards and Effectiveness Unit.

British Veterinary Association
Leo Jeffcott
, professor and dean of the veterinary school at the University of Cambridge received the Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal for 2001 from the association in recognition of his long and outstanding services.

Scottish Library Association
Derek Law
, professor in the information strategy directorate at the University of Strathclyde, has been invested as president of the association for 2002.

General Teaching Council for Scotland
Douglas Weir
, professor of social studies education at the University of Strathclyde, has been elected vice convener of the council (2001-2005) and will also chair the council's investigating committee.


Geological Society of London

Prizewinners, 2002

Wollaston Medal: Rudolf Trumpy , professor at ETH Zurich.
Lyell Medal: Andrew Smith , professor, Natural History Museum.
Murchison Medal: David Price , professor at University College London.
Coke Medal: John Cope , professor at University College of Wales, Cardiff.
Prestwich Medal: Adrian Rushton , Natural History Museum.
William Smith Medal: Nicholas Ambraseys , Imperial College.
Aberconway Medal: Andrew Mackenzie , BP Amoco.
R.H.Worth Prize: David Thompson , Keele University.
Wollaston Fund: Richard Worden , University of Liverpool.
Lyell Fund: Simon Turner , University of Bristol.
Murchison Fund: Philip Donoghue , University of Birmingham.
William Smith Fund: Simon Stewart , BP Amoco.
Distinguished Service Award: Peter J. Smith , Open University.

to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments