Honorary degrees

July 17, 1998

Lancaster University

DLitt: James Deardon, curator of the Ruskin Collection at Bembridge and Brantwood until 1996.

LLD: Elizabeth Robins, justice of the peace and chairman of the Education Trust Ltd which owns the Ruskin Collection at Bembridge and Brantwood; Tony Cann, founder chairman of the East Lancashire Training and Enterprise Council until 1994, chairman of the Ruskin Foundation's management committee and of the Brantwood Management Trustees.

University College London

Honorary degrees were awarded to: Mario Vargas Llosa, Peruvian writer, broadcaster, journalist and teacher, Democratic Front candidate in the presidential elections; Robert Furchgott, professor emeritus at the State University of New York Health Science Center in Brooklyn, adjunct professor of pharmacology at the University of Miami and member of the United States National Academy of Sciences; William Gorman, professor and expert on consumer behaviour and quantitative economics, fellow of the British Academy, member of the Academia Europaea, the American Economic Association and an honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

University of the West of England

DEd: Ronald Davie, former chair in educational psychology at University College, Cardiff, director of the National Children's Bureau until 1990, former visiting professor of Oxford Brookes University and Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education, honorary fellow of University College London and the University of Newcastle upon Tyne; Gillian Pugh, chief executive of the Thomas Coram Foundation for Children, former chair of the Early Childhood Education Forum and the Primary Education Study Group, vice-president of the British Association of Early Childhood Education.

University of Oxford

DCL: James Mackay, former lord high chancellor of Great Britain, honorary fellow Trinity College, Cambridge, honorary member of the Society of Public Teachers of Law; Sadako Ogata, United Nations high commissioner for refugees, former international relations director, Sophia University in Japan, minister, Japan Mission to Unicef; A. Dorey, former registrar, University of Oxford,

DLitt: Margaret Atwood, writer, poet, winner of numerous literary prizes and awards; Neil MacGregor, director of the National Gallery, trustee of the Kuratorium Zentralinstitut fur Kunstgeschichte, Munich, Raad van Toezicht, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam; James Mirrlees, professor of political economy and fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, Nobel prize-winner, 1996; Christopher Ricks, professor of English, Boston University, fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vice-president, Tennyson Society.

DSc: Michael Atiyah, former master of Trinity College, Cambridge, director, Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences; Robert Hinde, former master of St John's College, Cambridge, honorary member of the Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour, winner of the Royal Society's Royal Medal 1996.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further details contact NetGazette http://thesis.co uk

Please Login or Register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments