Grant winners

October 20, 2011


Each investigator will receive from £500,000 over three years to more than £3 million over seven years.

• Award winners: William Cookson and Miriam Moffatt

• Institution: Imperial College London

Genetics and genomics and respiratory disease

• Award winner: H. Walczak

• Institution: Imperial College London

Studies of linear ubiquitin and different models of cell death induction by TNF family members in aetiology and treatment of auto-immunity

• Award winner: Mark P. Harris

• Institution: University of Leeds

Coordinated use of hepatitis C virus genome during virus life cycle

• Award winner: Patrick Maxwell

• Institution: University College London Oxygen sensing

• Award winner: Fiona Watt

• Institution: University of Cambridge

Reciprocal signalling between epidermal stem cells and their neighbours

• Award winner: Azim Surani

• Institution: University of Cambridge

Principles and programming of the mammalian germ line

• Award winner: Julian Blow

• Institution: University of Dundee

Understanding the cellular response to replication inhibition

• Award winner: V. Ramakrishnan

• Institution: University of Cambridge

Structure and function of ribosomes

• Award winner: Peter Lawrence

• Institution: University of Cambridge Planar cell polarity and morphogenesis


• Award winners: Andrew Fleming and Sacha Mooney

• Institutions: University of Sheffield and University of Nottingham

• Value: £713,408

Optimising photosynthetic efficiency via leaf structure

• Award winner: Christine Raines

• Institution: University of Essex

• Value: £350,173

Metabolic engineering to enhance photosynthesis based on empirical data and silico modelling


• Award winner: Sheila Payne

• Institution: Lancaster University

• Value: £134,891

Unpacking the home: family and carer's reflections on dying at home

• Award winner: A. Dickman

• Institution: University of Liverpool

• Value: £200,342

Chemical compatibility of drugs administered by continuous subcutaneous infusion for end-of-life care

• Award winner: Catherine Evans

• Institution: King's College London

• Value: £97,603

Mental capacity and processes of informed consent for research on end-of-life care

In Detail

• Award winner: Derek K. Jones

• Institution: Cardiff University

This project will focus on the development and application of "tractometry", a non- invasive MRI-based approach to obtaining detailed information about the microstructure of white matter, the connections that carry information between different regions of the brain. Professor Jones believes that this approach will become commonplace in all neuroimaging studies alongside functional imaging of grey matter, where the information is processed, and will be instrumental in advancing our understanding of the brain in health, development and disease.

to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments