Glittering prizes

July 9, 1999

The British Academy has elected the following as fellows:

William Arnott, former professor of classics at the University of Leeds; Graeme Barker, professor of archaeology, University of Leicester; Andrew Bate, professor of English literature, University of Liverpool; John Bell, professor of law, University of Leeds; Richard Brealey, professor of economics, Bank of England; Richard Breen, professor of sociology, Queen's University Belfast, on leave at the European University Institute; Victoria Bruce, professor of psychology, University of Stirling; David Cannadine, director of the Institute of Historical Research in London; Michael Clanchy, honorary research fellow in history, University College London; Ian Clark, professor of international history, University of Wales, Aberystwyth; Linda Colley, professor of history, London School of Economics; Kevin Gray, professor of law, University of Cambridge; Christopher Green, professor of history of art, Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London; Carol Harlow, professor of law, LSE; Andrew Harvey, professor of econometrics, Cambridge; Georgina Hermann, reader in archaeology, University College London; James Higgins, professor of Latin American literature, University of Liverpool; Marian Hobson, professor of French studies, Queen Mary and Westfield College; Anthony Hunt, tutor in French literature, University of Oxford; Wendy James, professor of social anthropology, Oxford; Ronald Johnston, professor of geography, University of Bristol; Paul Klemperer, professor of economics, Oxford; Vivien Law, tutor in the history of linguistics, Cambridge; Melveena McKendrick, senior tutor in Hispanic studies, Cambridge; Ross McKibbin, senior tutor in history, Oxford; Wilferd Madelung, professor of Arabic, Oxford; Ivana Markova, professor of psychology, University of Stirling; John Hardman Moore, professor of economics, LSE and University of St Andrews; Timothy O'Riordan, professor of environmental sciences, University of East Anglia; Jeffrey Paris, professor of mathematical logic, University of Manchester; James Reason, professor of psychology,

University of Manchester; Neilson Smith, professor of linguistics, University College London; Hillel Steiner, professor of political studies, University of Manchester; Martin Swales, professor of German literature, University College London.

The following were elected

corresponding fellows: Pietro Boitani, professor of comparative literature, Italy; Tyler Burge,

professor of philosophy, US;

Bernard Comrie, linguistics,

Germany; Jan de Vries, history, US; Gideon Goldenberg, Semitic languages, Israel; Seamus Heaney, literature, Ireland; Morton Keller, history, US; Ronald Lee, demography and economics, US; Harold Powers, musicology, US; Daniel Roche, history, France; Fritz Scharpf, political studies, Germany; Allen Scott, economic geography, US; Peter Shinnie, archaeology,

Canada; Romila Thapar,

history, India; Pierre Vidal-Naquet, classics, France; Charles Wright, law, US.

The University of Reading has awarded honorary degrees to Sir Terry Frost, artist (DLitt); Olwen Hufton, Leverhulme professor of history at Oxford (DLitt); Sir Peter Hall, professor of planning at University College London (DIur) and Sir John Houghton, former director general of the Meteorological Office (DSc).

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.