April 24, 1998

The Geological Society Wollaston Medal: Karl Karekin Turekian, Yale University.

Lyell Medal: Simon Conway-Morris, University of Cambridge.

Murchison Medal: Steve Sparks, University of Bristol.

William Smith Medal: Stephen Larter, University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

Major John Coke Medal: Anthony Reedman, British Geological Society.

Major Edward Coke Medal: Anthony Spencer, Statoil, Norway.

Aberconway Medal: David Savage, QuantiSci Ltd, UK.

Sye Tyler Friedman Medal: Kenneth Taylor, University of Oklahoma.

Distinguished Service Award: Richard Fox, RMC, UK.

R.H. Worth Prize: Anna Grayson, scientific broadcaster, writer and journalist.

Wollaston Fund: David Rothery, Open University.

Murchison Fund: Jonathan Blundy, University of Bristol.

Lyell Fund: Andrew Gale, University of Greenwich.

William Smith Fund: Joseph Cartwright, Imperial College, London.

President's Award: Sarah Gabbott, University of Leicester.

President's Award: Philip Nadin, BG Exploration and Production.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments