January 16, 1998

Royal Academy of Engineering

Awards were presented to the following graduates on December 8: Lesley Ashburner, University of Newcastle; Grant Biggam, Heriot-Watt University; Huw Evans, University of Northumbria at Newcastle; Jacqueline Grigg, University of Southampton; Natasha Hird, University of Bath; Gillian Kirby, University of Sheffield; Chris Manson-Whitton, University of Cambridge; Johanna Marples, University of Birmingham; Rachel Oates, University of Bristol; Peter Wrighton-Smith, University of Oxford.

University of Edinburgh & Royal Bank of Scotland Award

The 1997 Alumnus of the Year Award was presented to David Steel, life peer, president of Liberal International and former leader of the Liberal Party.

The Mitchell Prize

The prize for an outstanding contribution to the understanding of the history of art was presented in New York to Suzy Butler, senior lecturer in the department of art history and archaeology at the University of Manchester.

Royal Institute of British Architects & The Authors' Club

The Sir Banister Fletcher Award has been presented to David Watkin, University of Cambridge, for his book on Sir John Soane: Enlightenment, Thought and the Royal Academy Lectures.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. Details NetGazette http//

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments