January 5, 1996

THE ROYAL SOCIETY. Aaron Klug, director of the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, has been elected president of the Royal Society, from December 1 for five years. He succeeds Michael Atiyah.


The Association of Commonwealth Universities has announced membership of its council for 1995-96. Chair: Peter Inglott, rector of the University of Malta; vice- chair: James Downey, president and vice chancellor, University of Waterloo, Canada; hon. treasurer: Colin Maiden, New Zealand; immediate past president: Maxwell Irvine, principal and vice chancellor, University of Aberdeen; members: Dato' Haji Abu Bakar bin Habi Apong, University of Brunei Darussalam; G. Benneh, vice chancellor, University of Ghana; Cham Tao Soon, president, Nanyang Technological University Singapore; Ikramul Haq Dar, vice chancellor, University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore;

K. Edwards, vice chancellor, University of Leicester; G. Gale, vice chancellor, University of Western Australia; M. Hanen, president and vice chancellor, University of Winnipeg; L. Holborow, vice chancellor, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand; R. Ianni, president and vice chancellor, University of Windsor, Canada; A. Ilemobade, vice chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria; R. King, vice chancellor, University of Humberside; Richard Luce, vice chancellor, University of Buckingham; D. McNichol, vice chancellor and principal, University of Sydney, Australia; Dato'Mohd. Sham bin Mohd. Sani, vice chancellor, National University of Malaysia; E. Mokgokong, principal, Medical University of Southern Africa; N. Nigam, vice chancellor, Goa University; E. Parr-Johnston, president and vice chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University, Canada; G. Randhawa, vice chancellor, Guru Nanak Dev University, India; M. Shahjahan, vice chancellor, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology; B. Shapiro, principal and vice chancellor, McGill University, Canada; A. Siwela, vice chancellor, University of Zambia; P. Ssebuwufu, vice chancellor, Makerere University, Uganda;

P. Toyne, vice chancellor and chief executive, Liverpool John Moores University; S. Verma, vice chancellor, Central Institute of English and Foreign Languages, India; S. Vyas, director, Banasthali Vidyapith, India; G. Wilson, vice chancellor and president, Central Queensland University.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns