On the move

September 25, 1998

Sir Gareth Roberts, 58, vice-chancellor of the University of Sheffield, has been appointed president of the Institute of Physics for two years from October, succeeding Brian Manley.

The following have been appointed for three years to the Further Education Funding Council: Imtiaz Farookhi, chief executive of the National House Building Council; John Merry, Labour deputy leader of Salford City Council; Lord Newton of Braintree, former Conservative leader of the House of Commons and professional standards director of the Institute of Directors; George Sweeney, principal of Knowsley College; and Chris-tina Cassidy, principal of Stoke on Trent Sixth Form College.

David Eade, chief executive of Barnsley College, has been appointed to the FEFC for a further three years and Lord Newton has been appointed chairman of the council's eastern regional committee.

Retiring FEFC members are: Colin Harris, legal and general financial services managing director; Margaret Hobrough, principal of Godalming Sixth Form College; Christopher Jonas, former president of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors; and Judith Round, principal of Highbury College, Portsmouth.

Philip Roberts, has left Sheffield University to become professor of drama and theatre studies at Leeds, replacing Martin Banham, who launched the country's first MA drama course in Leeds in the 1960s.

Also in drama, Baz Kershaw, professor of theatre and performance at Lancaster University, becomes professor of drama at the University of Bristol.

Peterhouse College, Cambridge, loses two of its renowned "radical orthodox" theologians. Graham Ward, college dean, becomes professor of contextual theology and ethics at Manchester, and John Milbank, reader in philosophical theology, takes the Francis Ball chair in philosophical theology at the University of Virginia.

Exeter University's efforts to boost research by restructuring 60 departments to 17 schools continues. Richard Elliott, reader in marketing at Oxford University, has been appointed to a chair of marketing, business and economics; Marco Mariotti, senior lecturer at Royal Holloway, University of London, becomes chair of economics in the school of business and economics; and Gerard Hodgkinson, previously senior lecturer at the University of Leeds, becomes chair of organisational behaviour and strategic management. English chairs go to Helen Taylor, a reader at Warwick, and Diane Purkiss, lecturer at Reading. A part-time chair goes to Colin McCabe, former head of research at the British Film Institute.

Tim Gorringe, former reader in contextual theology at St Andrews University, takes Exeter's St Luke's Foundation chair of theological studies.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments