Isaac Newton Medal goes to American physicist

The Institute of Physics has announced the winners of its annual awards in the discipline

July 1, 2014

The highest accolade, the Isaac Newton Medal for “outstanding contributions to physics”, went to Deborah Jin for her work at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in the US.

Professor Jin’s award was presented for “pioneering the field of quantum-degenerate Fermi gases”. The experimental research focused on the “laser cooling” of atoms, which has helped to form a practical realisation of the universal laws that underpin fundamental quantum behaviour.

Ed Hinds, from the Centre for Cold Matter at Imperial College London, who is also a fellow of the IoP, congratulated Professor Jin, adding: “[These] incredibly complex experiments have significantly advanced our understanding of the behaviour of electrons in materials… [this] work is likely to lead to profound advances in measuring and sensing, as well as quantum computing.”

Other prizes presented included the Gold medal awards as well as honours for distinguished research in niche subject fields, for outstanding contributions at an early stage in a physicist’s career and for achievement in physics education and outreach.

This year’s Gold medal winners are Tim Palmer from the University of Oxford for the development of probabilistic weather and climate systems, Giles Davies and Edmund Linfield from the University of Leeds for their work on terahertz physics and technology, Gerhard Materlik from University College London for his leadership at the Diamond Light Source and Michael Payne from the University of Cambridge for the development of computational techniques that have revolutionised materials design.

Seven subject medals were awarded to academics, including the University of Oxford’s Anthony Bell for his exposition on the origin and impact of cosmic rays.

Meanwhile, education and outreach awards went to Pete Vukusic from the University of Exeter for his “significant contributions to widening participation in physics education” and to Teresa Anderson and Tim O’Brien from the University of Manchester for their development of an educational programme that is used by 16,000 school children each year.

View the full list of award winners, including early career, education and outreach awards

You've reached your article limit

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Featured Jobs

Summer Receptionists

University Of Chichester

PhD fellow within Machine Learning for Personalized Healthcare

Norwegian University Of Science & Technology -ntnu

Lecturer in Finance

Maynooth University

Teaching Laboratory Assistant

University Of Bristol
See all jobs

Most Commented

women leapfrog. Vintage

Robert MacIntosh and Kevin O’Gorman offer advice on climbing the career ladder

Canal houses, Amsterdam, Netherlands

All three of England’s for-profit universities owned in Netherlands

Mitch Blunt illustration (23 March 2017)

Without more conservative perspectives in the academy, lawmakers will increasingly ignore and potentially defund social science, says Musa al-Gharbi

Alexander Wedderburn

Former president of the British Psychological Society remembered

Michael Parkin illustration (9 March 2017)

Cramming study into the shortest possible time will impoverish the student experience and drive an even greater wedge between research-enabled permanent staff and the growing underclass of flexible teaching staff, says Tom Cutterham