Grant winners

May 27, 2010



Award winner: Paula Mendes

Institution: University of Birmingham

Value: £109,150

Molecular-level control over the immobilisation of biomolecules on surfaces

Award winner: Ana Ferreira

Institution: University of East Anglia

Value: £139,909

Probing the Earth's deep mantle with multiscale seismology and geodynamics

Award winner: Manish Chhowalla

Institution: Imperial College London

Value: £131,066

Large-area electronics with solution-processed chemically derived graphene

Award winner: Lorenzo Strigini

Institution: City University London

Value: £239,175

Uncertainty and confidence in safety arguments: effect on expert decision-makers

Award winner: Frank Guerin

Institution: University of Aberdeen

Value: £53,840

A computational model of infant means-end behaviour

Award winner: Lijie Li

Institution: Swansea University

Value: £99,179

Coupled electromagnetic and electro-mechanical modelling of high-efficiency radioactive micro-batteries

Award winner: Colin Berry

Institution: Cardiff University

Value: £98,198

The endophytic migration of insecticidal Bacillus thuringiensis in Arabidopsis

Award winner: Dominic Wright

Institution: University of Cambridge

Value: £128,159

Exploring new parallels between main group and transition metal phosphides

Award winner: Mohan Edirisinghe

Institution: University College London

Value: £87,165

Generation of novel structures using co-flow in needles in an electric field


Award winner: Ian Crawford

Institution: Birkbeck, University of London

Value: £163,860

Astrobiological studies of volcano-ice interactions on Earth and Mars

Award winner: Derryck Reid

Institution: Heriot-Watt University

Value: £177,957

Frequency combs on the move: a precision frequency reference for everyone

Award winner: Mahmut Tor

Institution: University of Warwick

Value: £178,734

Investigating the phenomenon of a cryptic effector in H. arabidopsidis

Award winner: Euan Brechin

Institution: University of Edinburgh

Value: £132,847

Hierarchical assembly of magnetic materials from polynucleating oximes

Award winner: Mary O'Neill

Institution: University of Hull

Value: £217,972

Semiconducting biaxial nematic liquid crystals

Award winner: Michael Peter Helmuth Stumpf

Institution: Imperial College London

Value: £224,972

Bayesian reverse engineering of complex dynamical systems in nature

Award winner: Fernanda Ferreira

Institution: University of Edinburgh

Value: £139,005

Disfluencies in language: producing and interpreting speech repairs

Award winner: Sarah-Jayne Blakemore

Institution: University College London

Value: £236,193

Genetic influence on development of human rostral prefrontal cortex

Award winner: Vasilios Stavros

Institution: University of Warwick

Value: £136,444

Vibrationally mediated photodissociation: unravelling dynamics in biomolecules

More grant winners will be published in the following weeks



Award winner: Robin Simmons

Institution: University of Huddersfield

Value: £124,721

A longitudinal study of the experiences of 'NEET' young people

This study will examine the experiences of NEETs - young people who are not in education, employment or training. Research suggests they are at risk of social exclusion and more likely to experience ill-health and early parenthood. This group and its average age have increased during the recession. Dr Simmons will explore the lives of 16- to 18-year-old NEETs in two local authorities in the north of England with the aim of improving interventions to move them into work or study.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments