Grant winners

February 25, 2010


The ERC's second Advanced Grants Awards, each worth up to EUR3.5 million (£3.1 million), are provided to established researchers. UK-based winners in the life sciences are listed below: others will be published in the coming weeks.

Award winner: David Attwell

Institution: University College London

Brain energy supply and the consequences of its failure

Award winner: Wendy Bickmore

Institution: Medical Research Council

Determining the roles of the nuclear periphery in mammalian genome function

Award winner: Christine Britch

Institution: Newcastle University

Development of high-throughput in vivo oncogenomic screening strategies in acute leukaemia

Award winner: Alistair Brown

Institution: University of Aberdeen

Spatial and temporal regulation of the fungus-host interaction during life-threatening fungal infections

Award winner: Timothy Coulson

Institution: Imperial College London

Linking ecological and evolutionary dynamics in theory, in the lab and in the field

Award winner: John Diffley

Institution: Cancer Research UK

The initiation of eukaryotic DNA replication: mechanism, regulation and role in genome stability

Award winner: Jeff Errington

Institution: Newcastle University

Origins, proliferation and pathogenesis of L-form (cell wall-deficient) bacteria

Award winner: Michael Hausser

Institution: University College London

Cellular and circuit determinants of dendritic computation

Award winner: Alasdair Houston

Institution: University of Bristol

The evolution of mechanisms that control behaviour

Award winner: Irene Leigh

Institution: University of Dundee

Tissue engineering to evaluate novel treatments for skin cancer and genetic disease

Award winner: Anne Magurran

Institution: University of St Andrews

Biological diversity in an inconstant world: temporal turnover in modified ecosystems

Award winner: Alfonso Martinez Arias

Institution: University of Cambridge

Molecular origin and function of dynamic heterogeneities in mouse ES cells and pre-implantation embryos

Award winner: Josephine Pemberton

Institution: University of Edinburgh

Wild evolutionary genomics

Award winner: Adrian Podoleanu

Institution: University of Kent

Combined time domain and spectral domain coherence gating for imaging and biosensing

Award winner: Christopher Ponting

Institution: Medical Research Council

Derived and ancestral RNAs: comparative genomics and evolution of ncRNAs

Award winner: Benjamin Sheldon

Institution: University of Oxford

Evolutionary social ecology in wild populations

Award winner: Tim Spector

Institution: King's College London

The role of epigenetic factors in the aetiology of common complex diseases using twins


Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Award winner: George Thompson

Institution: University of Manchester

Value: £5.7 million

Light alloys towards environmentally sustainable transport second generation

This project aims to reduce the environmental impact of transport by seeking to improve the design of high-performance light alloys. Professor Thompson and his team of eight multidisciplinary academics will investigate methods of forming complex components and engineering surfaces for low environmental impact.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs