Glittering prizes

August 3, 2001

The Royal Society of Chemistry has awarded the following prizes and titles:

Adrien Albert lecturership to Chris Moody , professor at the University of Exeter; Bader prize to David Walton , director of the Fullerene Science Centre at the University of Sussex; Beilby medal to Alfred Cerezo , reader at the University of Oxford; Ronald Belcher memorial lecturership to Marie Beaumont , researcher at Loughborough University; Ronald Belcher memorial lecturership to Nathan Lawrence , research student at Oxford; Bourke lecturership to Ewine van Dishoeck , director of the Raymond and Beverley Sackler Laboratory for Astrophysics; and the Dextra carbohydrate prize to James Naismith , founder of the protein crystallography laboratory at St Andrews University.

Centenary lecturerships were awarded to: Kyriacos Nicalaou , chairman of the chemistry department at Scripps Research Institute; Darlene Shiley , professor of chemistry at the University of California, San Diego; Richard Saykally , professor at Berkeley, California; and Karl Wieghardt , director at the Max-Planck-Institut fur Stahlenchemie in Mulheim.

It also awarded: Joseph Chatt lecturerships to Vernon Gibson , professor at Imperial College, London, and Colin Bain , director of the Oxford Science Park; Corday-Morgan medals to Matthew Rosseinsky , chair of inorganic chemistry at Oxford, and Jonathan Williams , professor at the University of Bath; Sir Edward Frankland prize lectureships to Ei-chi Negishi , professor at Purdue University, and Jonathan Doye , research fellow at Emmanuel College, Cambridge; John Jeyes lecturership to Mike Pillings , professor at the University of Leeds; Liverside lecturership to Ian Smith , professor of chemistry at the University of Birmingham; Marlow medal to Helen Fielding , a reader at King's College London; Meldola medal to Claire Carmalt , lecturer at University College London; Hugo Muller lecturership to Gerry Pattenden , pro vice-chancellor for research at the University of Nottingham; Ronald Nyholm lecturership to Jon McCleverty , professor of inorganic chemistry at Birmingham; Robert Robinson lecturership to Jim Staunton , professor of chemical biology at Cambridge; the SAC gold medal to Patrick Camilleri , visiting professor at Imperial; SAC silver medals to Damien Arrigan , senior research scientist at University College Cork, and Andrew de Mellow , lecturer of analytical science at Imperial; Christine Sosnovsky lecturership to Malcolm Stevens , director of the Cancer Research Laboratories at Nottingham; Tilden lecturerships to Lynn Gladden , professor at Cambridge, Martin Schroder , professor at Nottingham, and Tom Simpson , head of organic and biological chemistry at the University of Bristol; and Theophilus Redwood lecturership to David Littlejohn , professor at Strathclyde University.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments