Glittering prizes

July 21, 2000

The British Academy has awarded ordinary fellowships to: Rosemary Ashton, University College London, English; Celia Britton, University of Aberdeen, French; John Broome, University of St Andrews, philosophy; David Clark, University of Wales, Swansea, history; Stefan Collini, University of Cambridge, intellectual history and English literature; James Crawford, University of Cambridge, law;

David Crystal, University of Wales, Bangor, linguistics; Paul Davies, London School of Economics and Political Science, law; Diego Gambetta, University of Oxford, sociology; Andrew Gamble, University of Sheffield, politics; Clive Gamble, University of Southampton, archaeology; Hazel Genn, University College London, law; John Gray, University of Cambridge, education; Antony Griffiths, British Museum, art history; Philip Hardie, University of Cambridge, classics; Heather Joshi, Institute of Education, University of London, demography; Simon Keynes, University of Cambridge, history; Peter Kornicki, University of Cambridge, Japanese studies; Adam Kuper, Brunel University, anthropology; Robin Law, University of Stirling, history; Angela Leighton, University of Hull, English; James Malcomson, University of Oxford, economics; Gordon Marshall, Economic and Social Research Council, sociology; Laura Mulvey, Birkbeck College, film studies; Linda Newson, King's College, London, geography; The Revd Oliver O'Donovan, University of Oxford, theology; Avner Offer, University of Oxford, economic history; Richard Overy, King's College, London, history; Peter Robinson, LSE, economics, Paul Rock, LSE, sociology; William Ryan, Warburg Institute, University of London, slavonic studies; James Samson, University of Bristol, musicology; John Teasdale, Medical Research Council Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, psychology; Helen Wallace, University of Sussex, political studies; Andrew Whiten, University of St Andrews, psychology.

Honorary fellowships go to: Neil MacGregor; The Rt Hon the Baroness Warnock and The Rt Hon Lord Woolf.

The Royal Academy has awarded the annual Rose Mary Crawshay Prize for outstanding published works by women on subjects concerned with English literature to: Marina Warner, novelist, historian and critic, No Go the Bogeyman: Scaring, Lulling and Making Mock; Joanne Wilkes, senior lecturer in English, University of Auckland, New Zealand, Lord Byron and Madame de Sta l: Born for Opposition.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments