Glittering prizes

April 28, 2000

The University of Edinburgh is awarding honorary degrees to: Grahame Bulfield, director and chief executive of the Roslin Institute (DSc); John Colquhoun, sports journalist and former rector of the university (Dhc); Sir Neville (Ian) Simms, chairman of Carillion plc (Dhc); Sheena McDonald, journalist (Dhc); Richard Gregory, emeritus professor of neuropsychology, Bristol (DSc); David Smith, director and chief exceutive, Dunfermline Building Society (Dhc); Janet Finch, vice-chancellor of Keele University (DSc (SocSci)); Rt Hon Lord Cullen, Lord Justice-Clerk (LLD); Georg Ress, judge at the European Court of Human Rights, Strasbourg (LLD); Robert Paine, emeritus professor of anthropology,

Memorial University of Newfoundland (DSc (SocSci)); Bernard Shapiro, principal and vice-chancellor of McGill University, Montreal (Dhc); Harold Shapiro, president of Princeton University (Dhc); Ference Marton, professor of education, University of Gothenburg (DEd); Jacob Olupona, professor and director of African American and African studies and director of the programme of religious studies, University of California, Davis (DD); Elizabeth Lochhead, poet and playwright (DLitt); Donald MacCormick, antiquarian bookseller, (MA); Edward Said, professor of English and comparative literature, Columbia University, New York (DLitt); Salvador Moncada, director of the Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research, University College London (DSc); Anne Irons, former lady provost of the city of Edinburgh, and former chairman of the university's Dick Vet Appeal Committee (BSc); Frank Gehry, principal of Frank Gehry and Associates, Architects, California (Dhc); Kirsty Wark, journalist and TV producer (Dhc); Luciano Berio, artistic director Centro Tempo Reale, Florence (DMus).

The University of Liverpool has awarded honorary degrees to: Reg Davies, chairman, Friends of the University of Liverpool (DLitt); Anthony Ledwith, head of the department of chemistry at the University of Sheffield (DSc); George Melly, jazz singer and writer (DLitt); James Ross, chairman, Littlewoods Organisation (LLD); Robin Saxby, president and chief executive of ARM Holdings (DEng); Nicholas Scheele, chairman, Ford of Europe (LLB); Pehin Dato Haji Abdul Aziz Umar, minister of education and acting minister of health, Brunei (LLD).

Sir Alec Jeffreys, genetic fingerprinting pioneer at the University of Leicester, has received the first Sir George Stokes Medal from the Council of the Analytical Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry for outstanding and sustained contributions to analytical science by work in a complementary field.

John Flower, professor in the Warwick Manufacturing Group, and Graeme Knott, an independent consulting engineer, have won this year's Silver Medal from the Institute of Marine Engineers.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments