Glittering prizes

August 6, 1999

King's College, London, has elected as fellows for 1999: Sir David Goldberg, professor of psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry; Barry Gough, professor of history and assistant dean of arts and sciences at Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada; Susan Howatch, author; Sir David Jack, former research and development director, Glaxo Holdings; Helmut Koenigsberger, professor of history; Andrew Lumsden, professor of developmental neurobiology, King's; Barrie Morgan, director of external relations, King's; Charles Rees, emeritus professor, Imperial College; The Right Reverend David Smith, Bishop of Bradford; and Sir Frank White, former senior circuit judge.

Christos Karamanolis and Jeff Magee, both distributed systems researchers at Imperial College London, have received the Brendan Murphy memorial prize, organised by the British Computer Society.

The competition rewards papers in the field of distributed systems published in a refereed journal.

Sir Michael Atiyah, former Salivian professor of geometry at the University of Oxford, has received an honorary doctorate of science from Heriot-Watt University.

The University of Northumbria at Newcastle has awarded honorary degrees to Ted Wragg, director of the school of education at the University of Exeter; Kamlesh Bahl, vice-president of the Law Society; James Graham, chairman of Border Television; Sir Nicholas Goodison, chairman of the National Art Collections Fund; and Sir Peter Bonfield, chief executive of BT.

Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh has awarded honorary degrees to journalist and broadcaster Derek Cooper and John Baynham, founder of the Conference of Centrally Funded Colleges.

The University of Wales College of Medicine in Cardiff will award honorary degrees in April 2000 to former Welsh rugby union captain Gareth Edwards, (MA) and actress Dame Judi Dench (DLitt). Other honorary degrees go to: David Davies, former chief executive of Dyfed County Council (MA); Meic Stephens, former literature director of the Welsh Arts Council (MA); Jean Stanley-Jones, musical director of the National Youth Choir of Wales (MMus); Y. K. Cheung, acting deputy vice-chancellor at the University of Hong Kong (LLD); John Elfed Jones, president of the Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (LLD); Alwyn Roberts, former pro vice-chancellor of the University of North Wales, Bangor (LLD); John Martin Bryant, chief executive of British Steel (DSc); Roger Spencer Jones, chairman of the Wales Institute of Directors (DSc); Seamus Heaney, poet (DLitt); Bryn Terfel, opera singer (DMus); The Reverend Elfed ap Nefydd Roberts, Presbyterian minister (DD); and The Right Reverend Lord Sheppard, former Bishop of Liverpool (DD).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments