October 3, 1997

The Royal Academy of Engineering

Honorary fellows: Sir Ernest Harrison, chairman of Racal Electronics, plc; Sir Michael Latham, director, Construction Confederation; Lord Wolfson, chairman of Great Universal Stores.

Fellows: Alexander Anderson, ICI director of engineering, technical director of ICI Tioxide; John Banyard, director of asset management, engineering and technology, Severn Trent Water Ltd; Howard Barnes, senior scientist, Unilever Research; Peter Beaman, professor of experimental aerodynamics and head of department, Imperial College; Thomas Bell, Hanson professor of industrial metallurgy, University of Birmingham; Robert Beresford, chairman, Mott MacDonald Group Ltd; David Bowen, professor of engineering and director of the centre for nanotechnology and micro engineering, University of Warwick; David Buchanan, chief executive, health and safety laboratory, Health and Safety Executive, special professor in the department of mineral resources engineering, University of Nottingham

Ching Chan, professor and head of electrical and electronic engineering, University of Hong Kong; Po Chung, dean, faculty of science and technology, City University of Hong Kong; Ian Cluckie, professor of civil engineering, University of Salford; Robert Crawford, professor of engineering materials and director of the school of mechanical and process engineering, Queen's University Belfast; John Davies, professor of structural engineering, University of Manchester; Peter Deasley, professor of mechatronics, Cranfield University and director of business services, the CIM Institute; Joseph Dwyer, chief executive, George Wimpey plc; William Eccleston, Robert Rankin professor of electronic engineering, University of Liverpool

Roger Falconer, head of department of civil and environmental engineering, University of Bradford; Edwin Farmer, group managing director and chief executive officer, the Morgan Crucible Company plc; Edward Gallagher, chief executive, Environment Agency; Philip Goddard, engineering director, GKN Westland Helicopters; David Grant, technical director, GEC plc; Peter Grant, professor of electronic signal processing, University of Edinburgh; Hugh Griffiths, professor of electrical engineering, leader of antennas and radar research group, University College, London; Michael Hoare, professor of biochemical engineering, University College, London; Edmund Hollinghurst, joint managing director, Gifford and Partners; John Howell, professor of chemical engineering, University of Bath; Philip Hutchinson, principal of the Royal Military College of Science and deputy vice chancellor, Cranfield University; Joanna Kennedy, associate director, Ove Arup & Partners and project director, South Bank Centre Redevelopment; Julia King, director of advanced engineering, Rolls Royce plc, Industrial Power Group; Anthony Kinloch, professor of adhesion, Imperial College

Ashok Kochhar, professor of manufacturing systems engineering, UMIST; Roland Lewis, professor of civil engineering, University College, Swansea; David Limebeer, professor of control engineering and head of control research section, Imperial College; Susan Lyons, director and director of customer operations, Rolls Royce Military Aero Engineering Ltd; James McKnight, chairman and managing director, Leyland Produce Developments Ltd; Kenneth Morgan, professor in the department of civil engineering, University of Wales, Swansea; Richard Parry-Jones, vice president, small frontwheel-drive car vehicle program centre, Ford Automotive Operations; Robert Reith, consultant, Oscar Faber Consulting Engineers Ltd.; Anthony Roche, British Railways Board group managing director central services and executive board member; Robert Thorogood, Schuftan fellow, BOC Process Plants; Derek Tuddenham, managing director, Roger Preston & Partners and associate companies; Ian Vance, vice president, technical, Nortel plc; Alan Vincent, head of engineering, GKN Helicopters Ltd and director of Westland Design Services; William Wakeham, head of department of chemical engineering and chemical technology, Imperial College; Keith Ward, director, TW Research Ltd.

Foreign members: Joel Birnbaum, senior vice president of research and development, Hewlett Packard Company, director, Hewlett Packard Laboratories, USA; Joio de Deus Pinheiro, professor of engineering sciences, University of Minho, Portugal. Leo Young, director of research and laboratory management, United States Department of Defense.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments