On the move

八月 11, 2000

Jeremy Peat, chief economist for the Royal Bank of Scotland and Alan Tripp, former managing director of Sykes Enterprises Inc, have been elected to the Scottish Higher Education Funding Council. Valerie Maehle, head of health sciences at the Robert Gordon University, and Geoffrey Boulton, vice-principal in geology and geophysics at Edinburgh University, are reappointed.

David Sherlock has been appointed the first chief inspector of adult learning at the Trading Standards Council.

The Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Council has announced four new members: Stephen Dexter, managing partner of Grant Thornton, Oxford, Cardiff and Witney; Wilson Sibbett, professor of natural philosophy, University of St Andrews; John Lawton, chief executive of the Environment Research Council; and David Saxon, Kelvin professor of physics, University of Glasgow.

The University of Newcastle upon Tyne has made the following appointments: Kate Chedgzoy, previously reader in the department of English and comparative literary studies at Warwick University, a chair in Renaissance literature; Sandra Edwards, previously reader in animal science at Aberdeen University, a chair in agriculture; Colin Ingram, previously reader in the neuroendocrine research group at Bristol University, a chair in psychobiology; Ted Sharpe, former director of the laboratory for visual psychophysics at the University Eye Hospital, Tubingen, a chair in vision science; John Moles, chair in the department of classics at the University of Durham, chair in Latin; and Nick Henry, lecturer in geography at the University of Birmingham, has been appointed to a readership in urban and regional studies.

Please login or register to read this article.




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments