Honorary degrees

August 24, 1998

University of Warwick

DLitt: Simon Barrington-Ward, former bishop of Coventry and member of House of Lords, prelate of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George (1989); Penelope Lively, author and Booker Prize-winner, scriptwriter for television and radio, and presenter for Radio 4 programme on children’s literature; Kenneth Loach, film and television director, whose films have won the International Critics Prize and Ecumenical Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival; Brian Simon, historian and emeritus professor of education, University of Leicester; Keith Thomas, president of the British Academy and pro vice-chancellor, University of Oxford, winner of the Wolfson Literary Award for Religion and the Decline of Magic.

DSc: Eric Ash, professor in the department of physics at University College, London, former rector of Imperial College, president of the Institute of Electrical Engineers (1987-88), Royal Medallist (1986), French National Order of Merit (1990); Joe Bamford, former chairman and managing director of J. C. Bamford Excavators Ltd; Michael Berry, Royal Society research professor, University of Bristol, Royal Medallist (1990) and Hewlett Packard Europhysics Prize-winner (1995); Brian Moffat, chairman and chief executive of British Steel plc, Materials Bessemer Gold Medallist (1996); Andrew Wiles, professor of mathematics at Princeton University, who discovered the proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem, former professorial fellow at Merton College, Oxford.

LLD: Herman Ouseley, chairman of Commission for Racial Equality, director of education for ILEA (1986-88).

University of Kent at Canterbury

DCL: Nicholas Baring, former chairman of Commercial Union plc.

DD: David Gitari, archbishop of Kenya.

DCL: David Williams, ex-secretary-general of European Commission; James Colyer-Fergusson, deputy to curator of Historical Relics BRB, philanthropist.

DLitt: David Puttnam, film producer; Peter Job, chief executive of Reuters.

DSc: Bridget Ogilvie, director of Wellcome Trust; Michael Foale, Nasa astronaut.

Robert Gordon University

Honorary fellowship: Tom Parkinson, former managing director of Brisco Engineering Ltd; John Foster, first director and chief executive of the Countryside Commission, architect, town planner and surveyor.

DBA: Alistair Grant, governor of Bank of Scotland and chairman of Scottish and Newcastle plc; Ian Wood, chairman and managing director of John Wood Group plc; Peter Hall, co-founder of Industrial Control Services.

DEd: Ann Jarvie, chief nursing officer for Scotland.

DLitt: Nicola Wallis, director of Aberdeen International Youth Festival.

DSc: Hans Hogerzeil, medical officer with the World Health Organisation, contributor to the university’s course on essential drugs management and rational drug use.

LLD: Margaret Farquhar, lord provost of Aberdeen.

Royal College, University of London

DLitt: Ian McEwan, novelist; Jessica Rawson, archaeologist, warden of Merton College, Oxford, chairman of the executive committee GB-China Centre (1985-87).

University of Paisley

Duniv: Andrzej Brandt, professor, Polish Academy of Sciences; Thomas Clark, executive chairman of Semple Cochrane plc; John Cowan, Scottish director of Open University; Alastair Dempster, chief executive, TSB Bank Scotland plc; James Fiddes, senior partner and chief executive, Ryden International Property Consultants.

登录 或者 注册 以便阅读全文。




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments