Honorary degrees

July 31, 1998

Royal College of Art

Honorary doctorates were awarded on July 3 to: Peter Blake, painter, whose works have been exhibited in the Guggenheim, Musee d'Art Moderne, Palais des Beaux-Arts, Galleria Documenta, Tate Gallery, etc; William Brown, founder of Brown, Beech and Associates, principal designer for many bridges including the Volta River, Forth Road, Severn and Wye, Auckland Harbour; Ken Loach, television and film director, whose films include Kes, Poor Cow, Raining Stones and Ladybird Ladybird.

University of Strathclyde

DBA: Ian Robinson, chief executive of Scottish Power Ltd.

DLitt: Elizabeth Blackadder, artist, who has exhibited at Edinburgh College of Art, Aberystwyth Arts Centre, the Scottish National Portrait Gallery and the National Portrait Gallery; Liz Lochhead, poet and playwright.

DSc: Alexander McLean, director of the Ferrous Metallurgy Research Group, University of Toronto; Richard Sykes, chairman and chief executive, Glaxo Wellcome plc.

University of Bradford

DEng: Stuart Reed, developer of legislation for control of air and water pollution and environmental programmes with the Greater London Council, and the Hong Kong government.

DLitt: Vernon Handley, principal guest conductor of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra (1989-95), now conductor laureate, associate conductor of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and vice-president of the Delius and Elgar Societies.

DSc: John Walker, senior scientist at the Medical Research Council's laboratory, Cambridge; Michael Barnsley, professor of mathematics, founder of Iterated Systems, former lecturer at the university and professor at Georgia Institute of Technology; John Ferguson, secretary and registrar of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, awarded a Charter Gold Medal of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 1997, 1998 chairman of the European Union committee on pharmaceutical education and training.

LLD: Keith Hellawell, former chief constable of West Yorkshire and Britain's "Drugs Tsar".

DUniv: Roy Johnson, chairman of the university's court; Dennis Jones, education officer for the Institute of Credit Management at the university, who played a major role in funding the ICM chair; Brian Campbell, warden of Tong Hall, Bradford Institute of Technology's first hall of residence, first coordinator and a volunteer counsellor of the university's counselling service; Gerald Hodges, university treasurer (1986-97), trustee of the Bradford Fire Disaster appeal and chairman of a Bradford housing charity.

Loughborough University

DSc: Frank Lees, professor and senior research fellow in the chemical engineering department, former member of the National Advisory Committee on Major Hazards, assessor to the Piper Alpha Disaster Enquiry; David Gardner, professor and managing director, programmes and deputy managing director of British Aerospace; Herman Hauser, director of Amadeus Capital Partners Ltd; Matthew Ball, former university proctor and chief ceremonial marshall at the university, recently retired member of the chemistry department; Thomas Butler, bishop of Leicester.

DTech: Anthony Marmont, professor and founder of Midlands Renewable Energy Technology Transfer; Francis Cotton, managing director of Cotton Traders and tour manager for the British Lions in South Africa, 1997.

MA: Peter Carruthers, Olympic gold medallist (wheelchair sprint), founder of Bromakin Ltd; John Whitworth, musician (performer, scholar and teacher).

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further details see NetGazette http://www.thesis.co.uk

登录 或者 注册 以便阅读全文。




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments




Library Assistants

Royal Holloway, University Of London

Catering Support Worker

University College Birmingham

Programme Director in Applied Sport Psychology

St Marys University, Twickenham

Skills Enhancement Tutor, Psychology

Edinburgh Napier University

Publications Officer

University Of The West Of Scotland