New Year Honours

January 5, 1996

Companion of Honour

Sir William Richard Doll for services toepidemiology.


David Carter, Regius professor of clinical surgery, Edinburgh University. Cyril Chantler, Children Nationwide Medical Research Fund professor of paedeatric nephrology, United Medical and Dental Schools, Guys and St Thomas's Hospitals. Graeme Davies, vice chancellor, Glasgow University. Michael Heron, for services to vocational education and training. John Horlock, treasurer and vice president, the Royal Society. Harold Kroto, Royal Society research professor, Sussex University. Donald Mackay, chairman, Scottish Enterprise. Robert May, chief scientific adviser. Jocelyn Stevens, ex rector, Royal College of Art. Edward Wrigley, master, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.


Antoinette Sibley, president, Royal Academy of Dancing.

Knight of the Bath

Kenneth Calman, chief medical officer.

Companion of the Bath

Peter Clapham, ex chief executive, National Physical Laboratory. Clive Tucker, Grade 3, Department for Education and Employment.

Companion of St Michael and St George Ernest Hondros, ex director, Petten Institute, European Commission Joint Research Centre.


Margaret Alexander, ex head, department of nursing and community care, Glasgow Caledonian University. John Anderson, chairman, Sunderland TEC. Struther Arnott, principal, St Andrews University. Charles Butterworth, professor of community nursing, Manchester University. Forrester Cockburn, Samson Gemmell professor of child health, Glasgow University. John Newsom-Davis, professor of clinical neurology, Oxford University. Roy Dietz, director (bioscience and innovation), Laboratory of the Government Chemist. Kenneth Dixon, chair of council, York University. Diana Ernaelsteen, Grade 5, DFEE. Alexander Geddes, professor of infectious diseases, Birmingham University. Harold Hankins, ex vice chancellor, UMIST. Rodney Harris, professor of medical genetics, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester. David Hawksworth, director, International Mycological Institute. Julia Higgins, professor of polymer science, Imperial College. John Howie, professor of general practice, Edinburgh University. Robert Mabro, director, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies. Alan McGown, professor of civil engineering, Strathclyde University. Robert McGuigan, services to HE. Patrick Minford, Edward Gonner professor of applied economics, Liverpool University. Brian Prichard, for political service. John Roberts, ex vice chancellor, Southampton University. Paul Williams, chairman and chief executive, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils.


Sunday Akpabio, ex clinical lecturer on oral health, University College Hospital, London. James Armstrong, for services to engineering and education. Michael Bennett, keeper, Jodrell Laboratory, Kew Gardens. Lawrence Challis, Lawrence-Spencer professor of physics, Nottingham University. David Chiverton, chairman of governors, Chichester College of Arts, Science and Technology. Janet Derbyshire, head, Medical Research Council HIV Clinical Trials Centre. Colin Flint, principal, Solihull College. Dorothy Geddes, professor of oral biology, Glasgow University. Richard Guy, chief executive, Manchester TEC. Henry Heaney, librarian and keeper of Hunterian Books, Glasgow University. Gilbert Kelling, professor of geology, Keele University. Shula Marks, professor of South African history, London University. Philip Oxley, director of research, Centre for Logistics and Transportation, Cranfield University. Kenneth Ray, ex dean of dental surgery, Royal College of Surgeons. Charles Robertson, chairman, Building Standards Advisory Committee. Vincent Robinson, Grade 6, DFEE. John Sellars, company secretary, Association of Scottish Colleges. Roger Spooner, research scientist, Roslin Institute. Janet Sprent, deputy principal, Dundee University. Honor Spufford, for services to social history and higher education for the disabled. Robert Symes, keeper of mineralogy, Natural History Museum. Angus Taylor, Grade 7, DFEE. John Turner, vice principal, Writtle Agricultural College. Thomas Tyler, Grade 6, DFEE.


Kathleen Atkinson, ex higher scientific officer, Institute of Freshwater Ecology. Maureen Booth, senior scientist, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. Gus Britton, researcher, Royal Navy Submarine Museum, Gosport. Gurdev Dahele, higher executive officer, DFEE. Derek Dean, head porter, Leeds University. Dominica Duffy, deputy manager (refectory), Blackpool and Fylde College. Edith Frodsham, senior executive officer, DFEE. William Geer, ex executive officer, DFEE. Sheila Geraghty, ex administrator, student affairs, Lincoln's Inn. Dorothy Knight, chemist, Institute of Food Research. Lalkhan May, support manager, DFEE. Brian Mack, for services to telescope design. Frances Mailer, principal's secretary, Glenrothes College. Dorothy Martin, higher executive officer, DFEE. David McCallum, director of access and learner services, Motherwell College. Oliver Menhinick, head of horticulture, Lackham College. Jeffrey Middlecote, for services to the Royal Observatories. Alan Mount, clerk of works/stonemason, Magdalen College, Oxford. Jill Newell, senior assistant librarian, London University. Roland Paxton, for services to engineering history. Peter Roberts, for services to engineering education. Margaret Sheridan, support grade 1, DFEE. Brian Steele, for services to materials science. Jean Thompson, ex support grade 1, Teachers Pensions Agency. Edwin Valler, deputy chief security officer, Surrey University.

Diplomatic and Overseas List CMG

Robert Conquest, for services to the study of international affairs.


Thomas Buchanan, director, British Council, Hong Kong. John de Amodio, for services to further education and UK/Swiss relations. Rosie Yeung, professor of medicine, University of Hong Kong.


David King, director, British Council, New Zealand. Susan Maingay, director, British Council, Baltic States. Viscount Samuel, for services to British academic and commercial interests in Israel. Yue-man Yeung, academic and public service in Hong Kong.


Yau-lok Lui, for services to meteorology, Hong Kong. Elizabeth Rylance-Watson, assistant director, British Council, Oman.

New Zealand Knighthood

Ian Axford, for services to science.


Nancy Adams, for services to botany. Bruce Biggs, for services to education and the Maori people. Margaret Loutit, for services to science.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments