December 14, 2001


University of Bristol
Richard Fortey
, currently merit researcher in the department of palaeontology in the Natural History Museum, has been appointed to the Collier chair in the public understanding of science and technology.
Stuart Siddell
, currently professor of molecular virology at the University of Würzburg, has been appointed to the chair in virology.
Tom Humphrey
, head of the public health laboratory service food microbiology unit in Exeter, has been appointed to a chair in food safety
Dhiraj Pradhan
, chair in Oregon State University, has been appointed to a chair in computer science.

University of Oxford
Peter Williams
, master of St.Catherine's College and former chairman of Oxford Instruments, current chairman of the national Museum of Science and Industry, has been named chairman of the new Engineering and Technology Board.

National Postgraduate Committee
Sir Martin Harris
, professor and vice-chancellor of the University of Manchester has been appointed honorary president of the National Postgraduate Committee. The NPC's Ordinary General Meeting in Worcester on 3 November 2001 unanimously approved his appointment. Professor Harris will serve until the NPC's 2004 AGM.

Northern Ireland Policing Board
Desmond Rea
, professor emeritus at the University of Ulster, who completes his second terms as chairman of the Northern Ireland Relations Agency in January 2002, has been appointed chairman of the Board.

The Royal Irish Academy
Gerry McKenna
, professor, vice chancellor and president of the University of Ulster has been elected a member of the academy, one of 295 members drawn from the sciences, humanities and social sciences.


The Royal Society
Brian Mercer Awards have been presented to the following:
£250,000 to Professor Christopher Hall at the University of Edinburgh for a three-year project on a new surface chemistry approach to the durability and conservation of building stone. Postdoctoral Brian Mercer Awards for Innovation to Dr Alan Arthur at the University of Birmingham to demonstrate the viability of processing biodegradable material in place of conventional plastic parts used in domestic appliances; and to Dr Ambrose Taylor at Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine to develop materials that will increase safety and efficiency in the manufacture of aircrafts, automobiles and trains.

University of Central Lancashire
Anne McBride
, who runs a part-time postgraduate diploma/masters degree course in companion animal behaviour counseling at University of Southampton New College has been awarded an honorary fellowship at Myerscough College.

University of Liverpool
Master of Science: Geoff Eyre , agricultural merchant and pioneer in restoration ecology
Doctor of Laws: Alan Waterworth , lord lieutenant of Merseyside, justice of the peace, trustee of the National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside, member of the university's council, former director of NHS Hospital Trust, Liverpool.

The University of London
Honorary degrees will be conferred to the following:
DLitt: Pat Barker , novelist and Booker Prizewinner 1995.
DMus: Gillian Weir , concert organist, Evening Standard Award winner for outstanding performance (1999) honorary fellow and member of the council of the Royal College of Organists.
DSc: Anne McLaren , principal research associate Wellcome/Cancer Research Campaign Institute, Scientific Medallist at the Zoological Society London 1967.
DSS: Ralf Dahrendorf , warden of St. Antony's College Oxford (1987-97), governor since 1986 of the London School of Economics and honorary fellow, foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
LLD: Anthony Gubbay , chief justice of Zimbabwe, president of Oxford and Cambridge Society of Zimbabwe, honorary bencher at Lincoln's Inn; David Windlesham, principal of Brasenose College, Oxford, chairman of Trustees of the British Museum, president of Victim Support.  

University of Oxford
Richard Wentworth
, sculptor and photographer, has been appointed Ruskin master of drawing and will join the staff in April 2002.
The French government honoured the following:
Tony Atkinson , warden of Nuffield College (Chevalier dans l'Ordre de la Legion d'Honneur); John McManners , honorary fellow of St. Edmund Hall and former Regius professor of ecclestiastical history (Commandeur dans l'Ordre National du Mérite). The l'Ordre National du Mérite (with the rank of Chevalier) was bestowed on Terence Cave , professor and fellow of St.John's College.

British Neuroscience Association
Brian Rix
, former actor manager, successively secretary-general, chairman and, currently president of Mencap, honorary fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists and the Royal Society of Medicine has received an award for public service.
Colin Blakemore , Waynflete professor of physiology at Oxford University, fellow of the Royal Society, the Academy Medical Sciences and the Institute of Biology; among his current appointments, he is chief executive for the European Dana Alliance for the Brain, chairman of the British Association and president of the Physiological Society, was presented an award for his outstanding contribution to brain research.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments