Glittering prizes

August 18, 2000

Sheffield Hallam University is to award honorary degrees to: Alan Borg, director of the Victoria and Albert Museum; Tim Brighouse, chief education officer, Birmingham City Council; Rita Britton, director, Pollyanna (Barnsley) Ltd; Mary Chapman, director general of the Institute of Management; Susanne Pearson, retired head teacher; Lord Puttnam, chair of the General Teaching Council; Elizabeth Rasekoala, director of the African Caribbean Network for Science and Technology; Maeve Sherlock, member of the Council of Economic Advisers; Vernon Smith, managing director, British Steel (Industry Ltd); Gabrielle Syme, former chair of the British Association for Counselling; and Howard Wilkinson, technical director, The Football Association.

Nottingham Trent University has awarded honorary degrees to: John Cadogan, first director-general of research councils at the Office of Science and Technology; Mary Russell, secretary to the Universities Council for the Education of Teachers; Kalyanapuram Rangachari Parthasarathy, research professor at the Indian National Science Academy; Sue MacGregor, presenter of BBC Radio 4's Today programme; Canon Eddie Neale, vicar of St Mary's Church in the Lace Market; Perween Warsi, founder of S&A Foods, manufacturer of Indian foods; and William Rees, chartered surveyor.

Dave Goodman, a former fighter with the International Brigade in the Spanish civil war and now a crusader for pensioner power, has been awarded an honorary degree of doctor of letters by Staffordshire University.

The University of Northumbria at Newcastle has awarded honorary degrees to: Paul Polman, president of Global Fabric Care, Procter & Gamble; Graham Wylie, group executive director and managing director of Sage Software.

The University of Glamorgan has awarded honorary degrees to: Welsh rugby union player Neil Jenkins; entertainer Max Boyce; Edward Prosser, inventor of Ronseal's Paint and Grain; Sir Brian Smith, vice-chancellor of the University of Wales, Cardiff; D. B. G Edwards, emeritus professor in computer science; and Rosemary Crow, director of the European Institute of Health and Medical Science at the University of Surrey.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.