March 27, 1998

Royal Society of Edinburgh

The following have been elected honorary fellows: James Mirrlees, joint Nobel prize-winner for economics in 1996, professor of political economy at Cambridge University; Joseph Rotblat, winner of the 1995 Nobel Peace Prize for his contribution to nuclear and medical ethics.

The following were elected ordinary fellows:

Ferenc Antoni, Semmelweis Medical University Hungary and senior non-clinical scientist, MRC Brain Metabolism Unit, Edinburgh; John Archer, principal and vice-chancellor, Heriot Watt University; Jeanne Bell, reader and head of department of pathology, University of Edinburgh; Michael Bond, vice principal and administrative dean, University of Glasgow.

Iain White, professor of architectural history and theory, University of Edinburgh; Robert Cairns, professor of applied mathematics, University of St Andrews; Peter Denyer, managing director, VLSI Vision Ltd, Edinburgh; Harry Dickinson, Richard Lodge professor of British history, University of Edinburgh.

William Donachie, professor of bacterial genetics, University of Edinburgh; Kenneth Falconer, professor of pure mathematics, University of St Andrews; David Fearn, professor of applied mathematics, University of Glasgow; David Finnegan, professor of molecular genetics and head of institute of cell and molecular biology, University of Edinburgh.

Alexander Fitzgerald, professor of analytical electron microscopy and head of department of applied physics and electronic and manufacturing engineering, University of Dundee; Anthony Franks, head of school of design and applied arts, Edinburgh College of Art, Heriot-Watt University; John Gray, vice president, Xilinx Development Corporation, Edinburgh; Angus Grossart, chairman and managing director, Noble Grossart Ltd, Edinburgh.

Robert Hannay, professor, department of philosophy, University of Oslo; David Hardie, professor in biochemistry, University of Dundee; Simon Harley, reader, department of geology and geophysics, University of Edinburgh; Rodney Herbert, professor of microbial ecology, University of Dundee.

Steven Homans, reader in biophysical chemistry, University of St Andrews; Keith Horne, professor of astronomy, University of St Andrews; David Hukins, MacRobert professor of physics, department of biomedical physics and bio-engineering, University of Aberdeen; Marie Johnston, professor in psychology, University of St Andrews.

Robert Kilpatrick, chairman, Scottish Hospitals Endowment Research Trust;. Philip Kocienski, Regius professor of chemistry, University of Glasgow; David Littlejohn, Unicam professor of analytical chemistry, University of Strathclyde; Sarah MacIntyre, director of MRC medical sociology unit, University of Glasgow.

Enid MacRobbie, professor and head of department of plant sciences, University of Cambridge; Brian Main, professor of economics, University of Edinburgh; Gordon Maxwell, former head of archaeology, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh; Graeme Milligan, professor of molecular pharmacology, University of Glasgow.

Ian Mowat, librarian to the University of Edinburgh; David Nicholls, professor of neurochemistry and co-director of the neurosciences institute, University of Dundee; James Penman, professor of electrical engineering, University of Aberdeen; James Ratter, senior principal scientific officer, leader of the tropical section, Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh.

Charles Rice, principal and vice-chancellor, University of Aberdeen; Graham Shimmield, director, Dunstaffnage Marine Laboratory, Oban; Richard Thomson, department of fine art, University of Edinburgh; John Usher, Salvesen professor of European institutions and director of the Europa institute and honorary Jean Monnet professor of European law, University of Edinburgh.

Alan Werritty, professor of physical geography, University of Dundee.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs